Back to the Beginning: Refinancing Runaround (posted Dec. 16, 2009)


I have very minimal credit card debt (trips to vet = $1,100 or so) and only the mortgage to take care of. With advice from someone at a non-profit consumer credit company, I called Wells Fargo back in July or August. This was my last chance, final hope.

In August, I filled out the entire paperwork packet they sent, mailed it Priority with Delivery Confirmation just to be on the safe side. Some time had passed when I received a call from them saying they hadn’t received my paperwork. I told him the Delivery Confirmation shows it was received and I stated the date. He then said, “Oh, I see it, we’re working on it.” Yeah right.

I then get a call saying they need the original loan document showing how much I earned at the time I signed the loan in 2002. This was NOT part of their initial packet, I contacted the person who processed my loan and got the information to Wells Fargo.

I received in the mail the entire packet again, am I supposed to fill it out AGAIN! What? I did not fill this out, and just thought it an error, filed it away and went on with life.

I received a message to call Wells Fargo, the woman said I indeed needed to fill the paperwork AGAIN. Oh my gosh! I fill it out and send it in, this time making copies of everything, and wrote the date sent 11/17/09.

In between all this I’ve received three voice messages from Wells Fargo saying they appreciate my patience as they try to work out the best solution for my loan. Yeah right.

Last night I received a voicemail message to call Wells Fargo, I did this morning. Guess what? I have to update my financial sheet and my hardship letter. What the? She informs me this has to be updated every 30 days. She says they haven’t received an update since August. I said, no – that I had mailed it in within the last two weeks. Strange how when she called my paperwork ‘wasn’t there’ and now that I told her otherwise, she ‘found it.’ I just sent in the same forms she’s asking me for now!

I blew my cool, told her this is ridiculous, can’t they just change the date on the form, my circumstances have not changed, they can verify that with Unemployment. I told her I initially filed in August and this is crazy it’s taking this long. She said they cannot change the date on the forms I have to send the other one in and change the fricking date myself. No, I don’t have a fax to send it to them ASAP.

Oh my gosh. This is the uglier side of human behavior because those who actually care about people actually HELP you in your time of need not put you through the wringer.

It amazes me in this economy with so many people struggling, we can spend money on electronics, music, entertainment, or whatever but we CANNOT keep people in their homes.

Staggering to think it took a tragedy like 9/11 to bring harmony, even in Washington D.C.

I am really doubting we are the most intelligent species. The more I know about people, systems, bureaucracy, the more I really like animals.

I was told by a gal I should file Bankruptcy, she had a friend who filed it twice, it wasn’t too bad, and she got to keep her home. It really helped with her credit card and other debt. I told her I didn’t have credit card debt (’twas true at the time, this was before the vet visits.) She said I should still look into it.

What if I don’t want to? What if I actually want to do the right thing and not use or abuse the system or tax-payer dollars? And what if I actually want my conscience to be clean?

This is another one of those cases where if you work really, really hard, things are supposed to pan out for you. I do not understand why some qualify for help and others do not. I like adventure, but this free falling stuff, this survival to just scrape by, oh my gosh, I’ve had it…yet I won’t compromise my standards.

From what statistics show on television about people getting the refinancing help they need, we are doing a terribly poor job helping folks. This is corporate greed at some of its worst.

If you do send anything to your mortgage company or insurance company, make sure you have copies and you proof of delivery. Wow, nothing like another fight…

And no, I’m not afraid to run this up the flag pole all the way to President Obama, media, Congress. I may be disabled and on the tough side of life, but I still have a voice, and this is unethical what they’re doing to people.

7:00 pm – just called Wells Fargo back after they left a message a few minutes ago. The man tells me they need all the new documents updated. I told him they were as of 11/17/09 and he told me they weren’t scanned into their system until 11/30/09. Wow.

I need to re-send Income, Hardship Letter, and Financial Worksheet. He had a foreign accent and I said I didn’t have a fax, I would have to contact Unemployment and get a printout from them and that takes a couple of days. He then gave me the fax number. Oh boy.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment