Back to the Beginning: Brain Injury – The Solar Panel Analogy EXCELLENT (posted Aug. 11, 2010)


Richard came up with an excellent analogy of my Brain Injury, the important role home plays, and what happens when people stay in our house. This is how he explained it:

Home is my solar panel where I plug in, recharge, and rest. When I am at home, the peace, stability, quiet, and my ability to control stimuli provide me the energy I need to go out into the community. I know just how much energy I have when I leave to go to the grocery store, library, or where ever. When it starts to wane, I have to head back home immediately to recharge. When I have visitors, however, THEY unplug my solar panel and I never get to recharge.

This analogy will help set parameters about how much face-time I can afford before causing myself harm. Setting clear boundaries is vital, I’ve learned if people can’t or won’t respect your boundaries, it says a lot about the health and strength of the relationship and will be reevaluated.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

