It’s Fried-day!


It has been a long week with Dad going from rehab back to the hospital to rehab and back to the hospital again.  As of this moment, he has been in ER all morning, having just gone back to rehab yesterday afternoon!  I spoke with his nurse just about an hour ago.

It’s seizures again (not sure why he’s having seizures only at rehab and not at the hospital), no one knows what’s causing them.  Dad is able to move all extremities, open his eyes, but he is not responding to questions.

He is very restless when he does wake, he’s on Valium and is sleepy, but when he wakes, he tries putting his feet off the side of the bed and starts pulling at things.  They expect to move him out of the ER sometime today, they’ve run all sorts of tests and everything is normal or in the good range.

Reluctant Heart brother has needed to call the Attorney to update Dad’s Will and documents for quite a long time, despite serious urgings.  Of the four of us adult children it goes without saying, we know three of the four of us have Dad’s best interests at heart.  Rebel Heart is the one outstanding…so, we will see how this plays out.

I emailed the Attorney letting him know what’s going on with Dad.  I asked if Dad’s current will would be void because Dad wrote on it, dated it and initialed it but never made legal changes, he said a judge would have to decide that.  But, in the event it is invalid, state laws mandate the estate would then pass to his children.  That was a welcome relief…hopefully meaning Rebel Heart won’t have need to sue.

Myself, I’ve had a huge headache all week.  I spent a little time Saturday in the garden.  That was all it took, I was in bed all day with several ice packs and finally took something for it when it refused to lessen on its own.  Saw the Doctor on Tuesday to re-do the saddle-less stirrups Cervical cell swab (the tests came back inconclusive last time…damn it!  Once is enough!)

I asked my Doctor about my neck and we looked into my file which showed I did have an MRI done last year?  The Neurologist believes it’s TMJ so, first is Physical Therapy.  I’ll be starting next week and then go back to see my Doc in two months.  My Doctor said she could give me a shot to get me out of this flare up, I declined.

The MRI I had in 2009 I do not remember that Neurologist telling me about TMJ so I’m curious.  According to last year’s test, there is significant malformation like Arthritis.  Hmm….not so sure.  I often have excruciating pain when I bend over like when I clean the kitty litter boxes or garden.  Wowza!  But I never have jaw pain at all.  We’ll see.

I haven’t done much else than make phone calls, pay Dad’s bills, and get buried in paperwork.  But, there was something neat that happened yesterday.  A little Pine Siskin hit the window, Richard went out and saved it from the kitty, held it and put some water on its beak.  It drank the drops of water but didn’t move much.

We were afraid it has broken a wing.  Only in t-shirt, jeans and socks, Richard said he was going back in the house so handed birdie sunshine to me.  I held it real still, talked to it and was a wind breaker since it’s been cold and windy.  I tried putting him/her down once but it looked like the little fella was shaking, so went back to holding him/her.

I watched as those tiny eyelids slowly closed as the birdie slept in my hands, what a huge message of trust.  It was quite beautiful.  They say a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush, but I’d say a trusting bird in the hand is pretty priceless!  I thought of how important rest is to any living thing that has faced trauma.

After some time the little bird woke and was much more alert, I lifted my hand into the warmth of the sunshine and waited.  He/she climbed up the incline of my fingers and flew away.  To be connected to life like that is a rarity in this shut-in world of mine.  Definitely a highlight of my day/week.

How are things in your worlds???

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s Fried-day!

  1. I’m sorry to hear that your father is still so ill and you too are in pain. I hope you can get some rest. It sounds like the birdie was stunned, but I’m glad you got the opportunity to hold and and get a smile and some joy if only for a moment. 🙂 xo

  2. Lovely bird story, could you feel it’s little heart beat so sweet 🙂

  3. I have such difficulty understanding how someone can not have the person who is horribly ill’s best interest at heart. Especially, if it is a parent. And then to get all bent out of shape about the will / money even before. Just beyond me, I guess.
    I will keep you all in my thoughts and prayers,
    Scott

    • Thanks so much for your comment, support and prayers, Scott.

      I’d imagine we’re probably in the majority of families with such ‘colorful’ dysfunction, but I’m grateful for the tools and support that are found along the way.

      Thanks for being here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

