Spring


I was born in the spring and seem to be re-born each and every spring…especially since TBI.  The depression and sensitivity to darker weather, isolation, inactivity, quietness all seem to leave me wanting to do absolutely nothing and not caring about much.  As if in my own cocoon or hibernation, I see winter as something to be endured rather than enjoyed.

This is what the First Day of Spring looks like on my calendar.  🙂

ImageThis spring, the Robins and Pine Siskins have returned, we’ve had an addition of the Redpoles and Red-Winged Blackbirds, to our year-round friends, the Red-Breasted and White-Breasted Nuthatches, Black-capped and Mountain Chickadees, Downy and Hairy Woodpeckers.

Pre-TBI I enjoyed birds, but post-TBI, being more of a shut-in, I look for them and welcome them back as happy, feathered friends.  Their songs, at times, are loud!  The bird bath has thawed, it was cleaned and refilled yesterday and the flying circus has begun!

ImageI have also seen our first butterfly of the season and my crocuses are out!  The first two years out here my crocuses would bloom, we’d get snow and they’d be flat as pancakes, so much for the joy of spring lasting.  🙂

From a dark and dormant season, there is rebirth.  Amazing how the earth has its seasons that do not need mankind’s assistance!  🙂

Death has been a topic on my mind lately, with my kitty, Tux, and my 90-year-old Dad.  I think of what Will Smith said, that there is life, there is death, and there is always rebirth…

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Spring

  1. Make sure you find something to smile about!!! Now, especially, that is very important. Also, know that if you need to vent, my email is on my site somewhere…lol
    I don’t check that one often, but if you go to the public one and sent me a note asking, I will send you my email I check all the time.
    Scott

    • Thanks, Scott, just for being you and for being there.

      Yes, finding things to smile about is very important. I’m still quite a bit on the dreadfully tired side, but all is well.

      The weather is beautiful here and I’ve been able to get out a little bit each day. Oh to feel like I’m part of life again, hallelujah! 🙂

  2. Sue Vincent says:

    My son was stabbed through the brain on 4th July 2009.. and that we celebrate as his rebirthday 🙂

    • Sue – I’m so sorry for not having seen this comment until today (May 9th!) I love that you celebrate your son’s rebirthday on the Fourth of July. That is really cool, thanks so much for sharing. 🙂 Hugs!

      • Sue Vincent says:

        Nick’s TBI was appalling… the damage extensive, but even so he would not now change anything. He has found a greater ability to Live with a capital ‘L’ since the attack than he ever had before.. so celebrating a rebirthday instead of mourning the loss of a former life on that day seems appropriate. 🙂

      • That is AWESOME!!! Thanks so much for sharing, that makes my slow, cloudy day bright and sunshiney. 🙂

Leave a Reply

