Kitty Update: 3 Vet Visits in 3 Days


Phew!  Thursday, Friday were local vet visits for subcutaneous fluids, and, yesterday, fluids and acupuncture 65 miles away. OMG, stressed and exhausted! 

All in all, Tux was pretty good about the shots.  I wish I could say I did as well, LOL!  Thursday the Vet took Tux without us being in the room and came right back out with her saying she did well.  Friday the Vet asked if I wanted to see how it’s done so we could do it at home.  Sure. 

OMG.  I swear, my mind says I can do this for her, I can give her the shot, but then the blood rushes from my face and I feel faint.  Maybe not so much of a gallant pet owner… 

Here’s kind of an odd thing about heading to Friday’s appointment.  Richard had the chainsaw in the back of our vehicle since he’d been working in the yard.  I took it out and put it in the basement.  I know, I know.  How inconvenient of me to move it.  Three car accidents and I’m pretty pathetic how concerned I was for Tux and said I didn’t feel like I wanted to be skewered that day.  Anything not secured in a moving vehicle becomes potentially dangerous projectile.

So, here we go, driving to the Vet’s office in town and not even five minutes into the trip and a woman CLEARLY does not see us and ends up in the space where we were driving, Richard had to swerve to miss her.  I just kept saying OMG! OMG! OMG! 

Richard said he believes it to be the wife of someone who is often drunk…my anger rises for many reasons.  I don’t care WTF someone does to mess up their own life, but I get pissed when people are reckless with other people’s lives.  Grrrrrr!  To know this and not tell a cop?  WTF? 

Anyway, I am grateful all Vet visits were safely traveled to and from.  🙂

I’ll email the Vet to see how often we should get Tux subcutaneous fluids, and maybe I can try it at home.  We’ll see!  Our regular Vet yesterday shared she had two dear cat owners who got all geared up to do the shots at home and when the time came, they just couldn’t do it.  So, for three times a week for a year + they brought their cat to the in for fluids.  It’s okay, there is that as another option.  Of course doing it at home is far more affordable, but we’ll see.

We also got some new Kidney Disease kitty food from other manufacturers, and, we bought items at Costco yesterday so I can try a raw foods diet for her.  That can be high maintenance, because I did that part-time for my dog who died from Cancer, but it’s quite miraculous what we can do when death is knocking at the door. 

I feel responsible for my dog’s Cancer and my cat’s borderline Kidney Disease.  Why?  Because we had pets growing up and they, all, but one, died of old age.  One cat lived to be 19-years-old and we only fed him Meow Mix!  So, I’m curious about what can be done to extend one’s life as long as a really good quality of life remains. 

It has been a long day, I woke at 3am to the sounds of Tux hurling so we’re still on kitty watch and probably will be until her final breath. 

I know we all die eventually, that’s not where my heart breaks.  My heart breaks because of the years lost to TBI.  Tux may have lived 14 years already, but to my mind, it only feels like 4 because 10 of it was my living with a Brain Injury.  I have often said my memories are stolen before they even happen.

I think it would really break people’s hearts to know the anguish we suffer every day of our lives.  Seriously.  We are living within every human being’s number one fear: of losing our mental capacities.  Let that sink in to where it feels uncomfortable.  Then, magnify that by 365 days, years, decades…

I no longer hold any judgment towards those tortured souls who chose suicide.  They weren’t weak in the end.  They were as strong as they could be with the light they’d been given in the first place.  I’ll never advocate suicide or believe it solves anything…

And here’s the other thing.  Whether it’s TBI or whatever disability, animals know us, they accept us, and they become fixtures in our routines.  Remove them and you’re not just removing a ‘pet’.  These are foundational friends in fur, parts of our lives that cannot be replaced.  So yeah, it’s a pretty big deal…especially when faithful friends are in such short supply post-TBI because I’m a lot rougher around the edges than I used to be (and wish I wasn’t.)

Sorry for the rambling, hopefully this post makes sense!  I did want to update before the day ends and more details fade.  Thanks for being here, dear readers and friends.  🙂 

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Kitty Update: 3 Vet Visits in 3 Days

  1. I can’t begin to imagine what you’re going through, I hope your kitty improves xo

  2. nothing makes one feel more helpless than a sick animal, May all be healed

  3. I understand so much of that. My dear Tamika will sorely be missed when she goes. I can still remember most of her 7 years here, but the stroke does take edges off of that.
    Just love Tux for as long as life persists.
    Scott

    • Thanks for sharing your understanding, it’s kind of tough to explain (at least in my mind). Yes, we will love our kitties as much as we can while they’re here. For me, having photos to look back at kind of helps. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

