Why I HATE Talking on the Phone!


I just got off the phone inquiring about feed prices, a HUGE stress because my brain processes things like an old 386 computer!  It’s a far stretch for me to look back when I used to answer phones and made calls for a living, when it took little or no effort…

So my question I’m putting out to the world is: Can I, in the lowest possible percentile for processing speed, do anything to increase it?  Any rehab experts out there, or other TBIers in my shoes?

I’d sure love to get better at this because at the rate I’m going, I suck at it!  LOL!  No really, I do!  I may be able to ask the question, but unable to process the answer. It’s another reason I don’t do online chat, it goes too fast for me to keep up.

Or, as was the unfortunate case this morning, I had a call supposedly from my health insurer, they asked for my address and then hung up or disconnected, but there was no call back.  Uh, yeah, I don’t think it was a real call either, they called at 8:15 this morning which is unusual, all of it is unsettling to say the least.

So I just called my health insurance and made a complete fool out of myself because I could not remember my mailing address, OMG, to confirm my identity!  My brain remembered part of my mailing address from three years ago and got stuck in a “I don’t know” loop.  This is why I hate talking on the phone, I invariably make a fool out of myself and can’t seem to make my brain to behave!!  [Heavy sigh].

OMG, Calgon, take me away!  And this was after I went through the self-talk of “I hate talking on the phone” to making myself believe “I love talking on the phone.”

Not only do I feel like the Alpha Dork, I think I just proved it beyond the shadow of a doubt…again…

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Anxiety, mTBI, Traumatic Brain Injury and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why I HATE Talking on the Phone!

  1. Take a peek at http://www.luminosity.com This is a site you pay for and it has brain games that go at your rate to challenge you and increase your brain. I used it in school and it was pretty good.
    I think they give you a trial sample.
    Scott

    • Now this is a DEFINITE a-ha moment! I saw the commercial for it at a local restaurant (just yesterday!), it sparked my interest and thought I need to remember it and check it out.

      Today I could not, for the life of me, remember it – and there is your dear comment. Wow!!! Thank you sooooo much!! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Leave a Reply

