Back in the Techno Groove!


Hello lovely readers!

I’ve been absent from technology as my computer went from clunking along to kaput.  Oh my gosh, life without technology…I know it exists, but that’s my brain in that electronic device!  And to be 65 miles away from the nearest tech, well, we knew it would take a while!

Time away from the ‘noise’ of the Internet, email, Facebook, Twitter, etc., was actually pretty nice once I got used it.  Yes.  I said nice.  And yes, I do love technology!

I had some nagging questions running through my mind:  is the computer a tool, a distraction, an addiction…or, was it all three?

Does Facebook, Twitter, PinInterest help me connect with people?  Maybe a better question to ask is whether I missed social networking sites?  No, I did not.  At all!  I missed email and really, really missed reading blogs.  OMG, unintentional technology detox!  🙂

Because the energy I have each day is so limited I really have to focus on the life in front of me.  Am I getting my chores done each day?  How am I doing with self-care?  Am I maintaining healthy habits?  Exercise?  De-cluttering?  Uncle, Uncle, I give, I give!

I love the Internet, I love technology, but overload is overload.  It’s kind of like having to watch the commercials during a TV show.  You may not wish to watch it or even care about what they’re selling, but you’re a captive audience if you remain passive.  When I had TV, I used to mute the commercials and close my eyes (too much visual stimuli).

When it comes to social media sites for this Brain Injured chick, all I can envision is the chaotic floor of the New York Stock Exchange where everyone is trying to yell louder than the other.  Anyone else feel the same?

I don’t need that kind of noise, negativity, or really unimportant events/details being magnified out of proportion.  I don’t need that stuff in my head.  Each little bit slows me down and takes precious brain bucks.

I will continue to blog until divine direction leads otherwise, I want to continue to use my life and story to help others.

Another insightful moment happened over breakfast at a local restaurant one morning last week.  Two lovely white-haired ladies were talking and I overheard one say, “I don’t have time to learn Facebook, I’d rather be out socializing.”  Wise words!  And as of yet, we have no data supporting that social media increases our lifespan as the Y2K-compatible method of getting out and socializing does.  🙂

I jokingly emailed a friend telling her I’ve yet to have had a life-changing spiritual discovery or a-ha moment on a social networking site!

What really clinched the self-inventory was receiving the Costco Connection in today’s mail.  This article “Stop Being Rude” (farthest right hand column) hit me right between the eyes, see what I mean in point 2?!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Back in the Techno Groove!

  1. John Byler says:

    Thoroughly enjoyed your post!
    Our cognitive energies are precious.
    We make decisions every day that determine if this will be a good or bad day. Best advice: Rick Sanders, SLP, Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital, Boston: “Be time-based, not task-based.” (in my book) So, I give myself a limited time then walk away. Ideally.

    • Glad you enjoyed the post.

      This is excellent, John, thanks for taking the time to share. I know we respond to cues well, so I need to think about setting a timer and doing the same, walking away. Good food for thought. 🙂

  2. I agree with “The Rules.” I also believe that we must take an occasional day off from social media. I don’t think I will include email and blogging in social media. I have had “aha” moments and spiritual shiftings through those two. They give me time to think and not be “talking” in the moment.
    Scott

    • Thanks so much for your comment, Scott. It’s always nice to hear from you, I appreciate your spiritual insight. I’m glad you enjoyed “The Rules” in the Costco Connection. I’m with you about communication tools that allow time for reflection.

      There are things on Facebook I enjoy, like right now, Oprah’s Super Soul Sunday is airing (11 AM PT). 🙂

Leave a Reply

