TBI & Another Layer of Letting Go: Possessions


Since moving here two years ago I’ve kept several boxes of things I could sell on eBay, They’re still in boxes, well-labeled, but nothing else has been done with them.  I admit, it’s an odd place to be – looking at the items with some sadness while also wanting to use the space for exercise equipment.  Kind of an interesting analogy, I think.  Getting rid of old weight to replace it with freedom and movement.

I realized not too long ago how HUGE my need for security is.  Well, the above mentioned boxes are part of that.  I think if I keep this ‘stuff’ I’d be able to sell it at a later time and still be okay financially. That was my parents’ way of providing security for themselves in a far different economy.

In my new TBI economy, exercise is key to better health and a better life.  Less is definitely more because clutter causes stimuli overload and fatigue.  A friend of Richard’s mentioned they were going to have a garage sale and offered us to bring things to their sale.  I know I said in my blog previously (post yard-sale burnout) I’d never do it again, but this got me thinking.

In this area, it is VERY difficult to get rid of stuff.  The only ‘local’ charity I feel really makes a difference in their community is over an hour away!  So, I’m thinking, if we can do this as a group of friends having a sale then there’s more help for the whole thing and I could take breaks!  What a novel idea.  We may have the sale here since they live farther from town.

I’ve decided all money will go toward paying off the barn loan and anything we have left over we’ll take to that charity I mentioned above.

So, I’m a woman on a mission!  It’s hard, it is sad because I’m seeing a lot of who I used to be prior to the accidents, like my sports equipment.  I loved sports!  I even played on a softball team for a while (I played catcher…man, do you work and get in shape while the rest of the team stands around waiting for the batter to hit the dang ball!)  LOL!  🙂

I have to let it go, all of it.  There’s a snowball’s chance in hell I’d ever get it listed on eBay.  I know a lot of people are doing what I used to do before the accidents, they’re ‘flipping’ stuff on eBay, buying low and selling high.  I miss being a part of that.

I have to close the door on what I used to be able to do and still feel like I can do (in my mind).  When I do try eBay, I end up overwhelmed and making a lot of stupid mistakes in my listings.  It’s frustrating and it’s time to let it go.  The truth of the matter I probably won’t remember most of the ‘stuff’ anyway (thanks to TBI).

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in brain fatigue, Grief, mTBI, Traumatic Brain Injury and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TBI & Another Layer of Letting Go: Possessions

  1. RH, as I read your post, I felt sad, I sat back and reflected on that and part of it was for you but another part of it was the memory of leaving my 30 year marriage. I left so much stuff behind. At first I couldn’t decide. I wanted it all, I wanted nothing. I wanted my share. but in the end, I took what mattered to me personally and left the rest. After 13 years in my townhouse, I moved in with my daughter for a short while and everything I owned went into storage. Ironically, some of the stuff i’d brought with me, stuff I had to have, had never been opened. and then i realized, like you, it was about security. And i could let it go.

    Good luck in the garage sale. You are most definitely moving forward in freedom.

    • Thank you kindly for your comment, Louise. It is interesting how we become conditioned to the belief we need to own a lot of things in order to ‘appear’ successful or ‘attain’ security for ourselves. I was thinking about this last night, the best things in life aren’t things and if letting go frees me up for the better, I’m okay with that. To let go of stuff is to free ourselves from a type of slavery we never recognized before. It is a lot to process, and just like grief in any form, it is work. Hugs to you. We’re one step closer to freedom once we go through the awareness, acceptance, and action stages. 🙂 Thanks for being here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

