TED Talks: Listening to Shame / Vulnerability is Courage by Brené Brown


““Vulnerability is our most accurate measurement of courage.”” — Brené Brown

I have watched this video and have to say it’s one of those with a great ‘takeaway message.’  Having grown up as I did, never really feeling good about myself I wondered why that was.  Surely I wasn’t born that way.

Watching this video opened up doors I never knew were closed.  I’d never realized how much shame I’ve been carrying all my life, and then add to that, a disability that makes me ‘different.’  In fact, one of the things I hate most about my disability is that I am vulnerable.  It’s scary, I feel like I can easily be taken advantage of, I don’t like it.

I found this video via NetworkedBlogs on Facebook.  I wish I could tell you who posted it, I’ve tried to go back and find it but it does not show older posts.  So to whomever posted it, thank you.  It is, as Oprah says, “An a-ha” or “light bulb moment.”

This video, along with the blessed souls I’ve met here on Word Press and reading the insightful, often arduous paths you’re on, is birthing new life in me.  It is awkward, it is uncomfortable, but it is the healing I’ve longed for all my life and was never really sure existed.

I am grateful to each and every one of you.  I’ll probably never be able to express my gratitude, I hope a simple Thank You will suffice for now and the knowledge I will pay-it-forward.

http://www.ted.com/talks/brene_brown_listening_to_shame.html?quote=1404

The quote above hit me with such exacting precision it made my head spin.  Brené also makes another piercing comment about how she worked so hard for fifteen years to remain small.  Oh!  My!!  Gosh!!!

That is me.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Brené Brown, courage, Gratitude, Healing, Hope, Shame, TED Talks, Vulnerability, Wholeness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TED Talks: Listening to Shame / Vulnerability is Courage by Brené Brown

  1. Wow! These are the very issues I’ve been dealing with (with help). I’m daring to live my life large, busting out of the years of confinement spent in the shadows of others and my perceived shame. My blog is part of that journey. My horse. My music too. … More power to you! Thanks for sharing … Be well, Dorothy 🙂

  2. Thanks so much for your comment, Dorothy. This sounds like a serendipitous moment, good for you! I am of the belief no matter what life hands us we can still have a good, meaningful, content life. Good for you for your music, blog, and beloved horse, these are all great healers. 🙂

    This is just so AWESOME! Isn’t it amazing how much healing is ‘out there’ when we go looking for it. Wishing you all the best today & always. 🙂

Leave a Reply

