Depression: Out of the Shadows – Life-changing Quotes


I realized I had left out some of the quotes that made an incredible difference in my perspective on depression in myself and helped develop greater compassion for others.

Although all stories touched my heart, I found Andrew Solomon’s words stayed with me since the first viewing two years ago.  I appreciate his gift of weaving words together into a succinct, yet powerful, description.

These are quoted from http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/takeonestep/depression/video-ch_01.html

“I always say that the opposite of depression is not happiness but vitality,”

“…depression has to do with finding all of life totally overwhelming.”

“It’s a poverty of the English language that we only have that one word, depression, that’s used to describe how a little kid feels when it rains on the day of his baseball game, and it’s also used to describe why people spend their lives in mental hospitals and end up killing themselves. But clinical depression really has to do with the feeling that you can’t do anything, that everything is unbelievably difficult, that life is completely terrifying, and a feeling of this free-floating despair, which is overpowering and horrifying.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I loved his defining depression as a loss of vitality, not just a one-dimensional ongoing sadness.  This is a documentary I cannot recommend any higher, it is an in-depth look at depression and its staggering ramifications on quality of life on a kaleidoscope of lives.

We live in a feel-good, denial of bad feelings society where advertisers, magazines, movies, etc., seductively sell people always blissfully happy and ‘have it all.’  Denial of any feeling other than of feeling good, the stigma of depression as we hear it in the media, and the shame talking about it keep us in a terribly destructive cycle.  I love this video because it makes depression 3D – and – more importantly gives us hope.

I truly hope you find quotes you can apply to your own life, the life of a loved one, or to simply grow in understanding and compassion for others.

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/takeonestep/depression/

Thanks for listening.  🙂

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
Aside | This entry was posted in courage, Depression, mTBI, PTSD, TBI, Traumatic Brain Injury and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Depression: Out of the Shadows – Life-changing Quotes

  1. Thank you for sharing this. I have had depression for some time now. The first quote you put in here is exactly how I like to look at the issue. It’s not about happiness or even being sad. For me it’s all about not being able to do the everyday things. I am generally a happy person who has depression. Many of my friends and family don’t understand how that can be.

  2. You’re so very welcome, thank you kindly for your comment – it always does my heart good to know when something has touched another’s heart.

    Oh gosh, can I ever relate! My Dad used the word “jovial” for how I used to be and I’m much more serious now (kind of takes a lot of concentration to live life without my full mental capacities.)

    It is really hard to understand for those outside of us, but the healing begins when someone else validates reality. I think we’re a society that loves to place blame on people! I wish it were as simple as making a choice to be depressed or not.

    Hopefully the video will help you, and if your friends are interested, them too. It is really well done with respect and integrity to the person suffering from depression. It really opened my eyes and I’m grateful for the insight.

  3. I have just watched the videos, truly insightful. It is about time depression is bought to the fore. There are so many people that suffer with it, yet it continues to be swept under the carpet. To articulate what it is like to have depression is so very hard when you are immersed in it, this collection of videos helps others & those suffering to gain a better understanding. I am also pleased to hear treatment is more progressive, its about time they moved on from the Dickensian ways.
    Thank you soooo much RH for posting the link to these videos 🙂

    • Thanks for your comment, I am so glad you got to view the videos, there is a lot of priceless information. I agree wholeheartedly, it is something we do sweep under the carpet because it’s too uncomfortable to look at. We really hurt ourselves and others with that type of mentality.

      You are so very welcome, I am grateful they were beneficial and that I happened to stumble upon that video at the library. I love PBS and public television. 🙂

Leave a Reply

