Encouraging Chief Tecumseh Quote from the movie “Act of Valor”


Richard and I went on a date today to see the movie “Act of Valor.”  We chose this movie because it is based on real stories and is in association with Tom Clancy who is known for excellent research.  It’s rare we go see movies (thanks to my Brain Injury), but the ones we do go to are usually quite good with a message that stays with you.

We also chose this movie because Richard served in Vietnam, my Grandma was at Pearl Harbor, my Dad served in WWII (at Normandy and Japan) and his Dad served in WWI.  My Grandparents married on Flag Day and by my nature I am such a grateful, patriotic soul, I usually cry when the National Anthem is played or sung.

I also have a heart for soldiers around the world who died fighting for their country because we are, as Maya Angelou says, “More alike than unalike.”

I have been thinking about a different poem/quote I wanted to share but having heard this for the first time in the movie, wanted to share it  here now.

I dedicate this to all noble souls:

“So live your life that the fear of death can never enter your heart.
Trouble no one about their religion; respect others in their view, and
Demand that they respect yours. Love your life, perfect your life,
Beautify all things in your life. Seek to make your life long and
Its purpose in the service of your people.

Prepare a noble death song for the day when you go over the great divide.
Always give a word or a sign of salute when meeting or passing a friend,
Even a stranger, when in a lonely place. Show respect to all people and
Bow to none. When you arise in the morning, give thanks for the food and
For the joy of living. If you see no reason for giving thanks,
The fault lies only in yourself. Abuse no one and nothing,
For abuse turns the wise ones to fools and robs the spirit of its vision.

When it comes your time to die, be not like those whose hearts
Are filled with fear of death, so that when their time comes
They weep and pray for a little more time to live their lives over again
In a different way. Sing your death song and die like a hero going home.”

– Chief Tecumseh

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in encouragement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Encouraging Chief Tecumseh Quote from the movie “Act of Valor”

  1. Riversurfer says:

    I have been reading up on your blog, you write so much food for thought – it is a true pleasure to endulge in this great blog. The poem by Tecumseh is so very beautiful, I had to google this chief and got myself an interesting read 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Riversurfer, your kind words mean a lot to me. I am pleased you’re enjoying Tecumseh’s writing too. What a beautiful soul he had. I don’t know that I have ever come across his writings before and wish I had…but on the other hand, I’m grateful to have found it. Best to you today & always. 🙂

      Blessings, Love & Peace,
      RH

Leave a Reply

