Catepillar to Butterfly


I’ve been asked to make some life changes by our Creator, please be patient while in transition.

I don’t know what needs to be done nor how to ask for help.  I’m in a cocoon where I don’t know which way is up, how to get out, or if/when I will be able to fly.

Please be patient with me, I am doing the very best I can with the limited light in this cocoon.

Please do not judge, give lofty advice, or pass me by in my struggle.
I need your help, I just don’t know how much, how often, or why.

Please be open with me, I no longer have the insightful eyes to see myself with and need you to share your observations, but please, be careful for I am a weak and struggling caterpillar longing to fly.

Please love me as I am, I am longing to be free but am struggling in the midst of this growth process. I am not who I was before, nor am I who I will be, please love me where I am, as I am.

Please do not rush, prematurely cut me from this cocoon, tell me I’ll be grateful for this pain,  or linger in memories of how I used to be.

Written 4/29/2005

“‘How does one become a butterfly?’ she asked pensively.
‘You must want to fly so much
that you are willing to give up being a caterpillar.'”
– Trina Paulus “Hope for the Flowers”

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Catepillar to Butterfly

  1. Lydia H says:

    So true. People sometimes don’t know what to say or do when around disabled. We also have to be ok with ourselves. it’s hard not to look at my post self with longing.

    • I agree, Lydia. Isn’t that a shame that’s not part of our education growing up? At least it wasn’t where I went to school and I feel like I missed out on a very important part of life. Just like a lot of people don’t know what to say when one has Cancer, it’s just that we have no experience and need to bridge the gap between where they are and we are.

      I hear you about learning to be okay with ourselves, acceptance is definitely a process! Some days are better than others. I have a little voice bugging me now to be more kind with myself because I would never speak to anyone like I do myself. Wow! Huge life lesson!

      There is a lot of grief along this path, and I too have often said of myself, “But I used to be able to…” It is a lot to deal with, definitely a trial by fire sort of deal! Letting go is not easy, neither is change…especially post-TBI! I’m trying to expand my tolerance and patience with myself. It is something else! Eeesh! I’ll let you know when I have it mastered – LOL – I’m not holding my breath! 🙂

      Fortunately we’re not alone in this path and each person is shining a light for others. Thanks for sharing and for being here. Hugs!

      Blessings, Love & Peace,
      RH

  2. Troy says:

    I feel like this award was created in your honor….you can do with it whatever you please, but I wanted to pass it to you as a way of saying thank you….for sharing your story, and your kind words with me! 🙂
    Here is the link:

    http://lifeaisle.wordpress.com/2012/03/24/apparently-i-am-a-very-inspiring-blogger/

    • Troy, thanks so much. Your kind words and award are so very heartwarming. It’s an honor to be following your blog and read your insightful, educational, and inspirational writing. I am grateful. 🙂

      Blessings, Love & Peace,
      RH

  3. Congratulations RH, a very well deserved award 🙂 Truer words have never been written so well.

Leave a Reply

