Back to the Beginning: Update – Brain Injury Attorney / Going Back Into the Fire (posted Oct. 22, 2010)


I’ve been in contact with a Brain Injury attorney’s office (perhaps third time is a charm, and perhaps, they will not find a quick road to piercing my heart and crushing my spirit.)

They are at least willing to talk to me, a small glimmer of hope flickers on the horizon after all.  “Hope for the best but prepare for the worst” is probably the best adage when it comes to unseen disabilities.  The intake phone call will be next week, I’ve got it on the calendar and completely plan on resting before delving into this most unlovely place.

In April of last year I went through the entire process of intake, getting records to the “big Brain Injury attorney” in Seattle only to find he declined my case because it wasn’t a big enough case for him.  There were too many grey areas (but isn’t that what good attorneys deal with??)

The second Brain Injury attorney I talked to in Kitsap County told me point blank I was more trouble than I was worth.  Ouch.  I handled the call with as much tact as I could muster, once off the phone, I bawled.

It either takes a lot of courage or craziness to try again, I guess it’s all a matter of perspective which one is required here, or maybe it takes both – lol!

I don’t take these things lightly, I consider this “going back into the fire.”  I know from experience a lawsuit will take years, is draining, and often demoralizing with no guarantees.  I asked if they did not take my case if they would at least advise me how to deal with the at-fault party’s insurance.

It is a very ugly side of human nature dealing with insurance companies and the staggering, nauseating ways the truth is twisted into something that minimizes the person’s already devastated life only to benefit themselves.  Oh I don’t know how these people look themselves in the mirror.  How can one live without an active conscience is beyond me.

More will be revealed in time, for now I’m pondering this, what happened in the last lawsuits, and, am trying to remember to breathe deeply.

With Brain Injury comes a LOT of lessons in humanity – and lack there of –  I just wish I wasn’t entrusted with so much or it came in smaller, easier-to-digest pieces!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

