Back to the Beginning: So, I have to write this email… (posted Oct. 22, 2010)


…telling friends and family there won’t be a wedding ceremony due to Brain Injury, and also, if anyone had plans on coming and staying here, that’s out of the picture too!  I started it some time ago, I still need clarity.

I don’t like potentially hurting or disappointing people and, well, it’s embarrassing.  It’s a lot easier to live my life in relative isolation than bare vulnerability.  This reminds me of my dog, Rudy, after her Cancer surgery years ago.  Prior, she was playful, outgoing and fearless.  Afterward, she knew she was injured, vulnerable, never her fearless self again.  I think I’m kinda like that.

My friends and family for the most part are not very involved or knowledgeable about my life let alone Brain Injury.  Not a single one is invited to this blog or has been told about it.  It seems on this path one loses their old ‘normal’ friends, and in time, develops new ‘TBI’ friends.  With this said, I’m wanting to explain succinctly why no ceremony, try to keep it light, and, maintain a little dignity and grace for myself and anyone with a Brain Injury.

I am stumped, struggling with finding words.  It’s not easy to tell everyone in your life you’re not going to have a wedding ceremony, that feels like a social no-no!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

