Back to the Beginning: Back Home (posted Oct. 15, 2010)


We made the hour trip to visit Richard’s friend in the hospital this morning, seems he has six broken ribs and is sporting quite the collection of bruises.  At this point they are not too concerned about the brain…I know, I know…I’ve heard it before, these are too often minimized.  But I also learned he was knocked unconscious once before in his life and seemed to come out of that okay, so we let it be for now.

I’d imagine like many rural areas the people here are hardy, they take what life gives them, don’t really complain about much and manage life the best they can.

I suppose those of us dramatically affected by TBI can tend to be over-protective and over-vigilant.  It seems to be a pretty comfortable fit for me, I must say.  I guess seeing how vulnerable we are, inside and outside of my own eyes, I feel a bit of a warrior, protective stance happening.  Perhaps it’s the immense hardship and heartbreak we go through that makes us this way, I don’t know.  Sometimes I think we go through tough times just so we can be someone else’s angel and come from a place of deep validation and understanding.

When we left the hospital it wasn’t yet decided whether he would stay three days or go home today.  It’s my sincere hope he’s back home, where things are familiar, with the comfort of family and his good dog.

Just about everyone there thanked us for coming as if it was some grand gesture.  I guess having been there for my Dad with his open heart surgery, it’s not something you think about and I am glad Richard suggested it.  I was glad his two sons were there and his wife was drinking coffee, taking everything in graceful stride.  Yes, hardy souls.

I’ve not been in a hospital since Dad’s surgery, there is a healing energy I sensed.  Bless the healing nurses, and may we have compassion, patience, and nurturing intentions for those who are not.

It was good to go, it felt good to be useful.

And I figured out why I couldn’t say what I needed to about him getting checked out yesterday because it happened again today a couple of times.  Things just go too fast for my little brain, it has nothing to do with intention as it has to do with faulty wiring – lol!

Long day, we did some shopping after, and well yes, we’re both pretty fried!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

