Back to the Beginning: Yard Sale Weekend (posted May 30, 2011)


We did it! We pulled off a yard sale this weekend and I’d say it went well. We were mindfully prepared, had done A LOT of research how to have a good yard sale – even researched prices. We included the extras like an extension cord so folks could try out electronics and a mirror for trying on jackets. Everything was marked, we used red duct tape.

It was exhausting!!! I wish we could have had shorter hours, but I’m learning people out here yard sale ALL DAY LONG! Friday was a far busier day, Saturday was a drag because the weather was foul, rainy, cold, dark…enough so we never did feel warm.

There are a lot of great sites with tips on how to hold a yard sale, this is one of the ones we appreciated: http://www.yardsalequeen.com/yardsale.htm

My favorite thing was we did put an ad in the paper, gave the street name but no house address and then put up signs Thursday night, all except the ones closest to the house. Excellent! Richard took out the signs earlier than our opening time and folks still followed him to the house. I DO know one thing out here, people do not respect the “no early birds” notes in the ads!

(It was unfortunate the newspaper put the ad in a week early – not our error, but an inconvenience for people looking for the sale last weekend. To those folks who mentioned it, all I could do is explain.)

It was enjoyable on the social side, but by the end, honestly, me and my little brain were quite tired of people! I used to be such a people person!!! It’s a lot of stimuli, a lot going on at the same time, and a whole heck of a lot of questions. I made sure Richard did the math, that would have been a huge mistake to let me do that. I always loved math, so much so, as a kid, I would ask for math sheets to do during the summer. Weird!

Most of the items were Richard’s, so he did well, and it was neat to see people happy with their purchases and us knowing they’d get use instead of living on a shelf somewhere.

Oh yes – and indeed – Richard baked cookies since he’s known for that out here. It was fun to give away cookies, probably more especially to those who didn’t buy anything so they’d know we’re in it for the fun and appreciated just their stopping by, they did not have to feel bad for not buying something.

It was also neat to give people a break, like the teachers who stopped by, and Richard gave a Mom a $5 back when they were leaving because she has three kids.

I did regret, however, bargaining with a gal who’d been to our house once when she learned I was a horse person and was looking for someone to ride with. She talked me down 50% on one item, said there was a stain on a brand new sweatshirt and she didn’t know if she could get it out, and basically got us to give her some things for free.

I kicked myself because this is a woman carrying a horse handbag wearing horse jewelry stocking things for her RV! Where I come from having an RV means disposable income. I told Richard, next time, he does the negotiating! It made me feel yucky because we had just given their horse group an entire kitchen pack they could use for when they go trail riding, it had everything they needed in there. We’d had it when we worked in Alaska. A kindness already forgotten? We pretty much felt burnt, to a crisp! Perhaps she thought we could give everything else away and had no debts of our own.

Oh my gosh! I almost forgot to mention, tonight a truck drove up and it wasn’t one of Richard’s friends. Get this, it’s about 4 or 5 in the evening, they knock at the door asking if we were having our sale today! Duh, no! There were no signs out, the ad was clear about the times and days. Seriously! I thought it was tremendously disrespectful. Wow, people!

My balance is off and I had a heck of a time getting out of bed this morning, phewy, a lot of brain bucks went into this weekend. I think all in all it went well, but my oh my, I need recovery time! I’m off for now, my neck is killing me!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

