Back to the Beginning: Within That Moment… (posted June 27, 2010)


What would you do?

Recently Richard and I went out to dinner at the local restaurant in town. We sat down by the window, soon a car parked on the street and we smiled at the two big dogs inside. Richard and I both LOVE dogs.

Once we got over the oohs and ahhs I casually noticed the windows, it had been a warm day (I worked outside, my brain fried, my face still red from overheating!) I told Richard they didn’t have enough air, he mentioned the driver’s side window was open, but maybe only 2-3 inches at most. I said no other windows were open. He said they have no cross-ventilation, the dogs were just eager for the return of their people. Not what I saw and felt.

At first Richard didn’t seem all too concerned, an inconvenient uncomfortable moment. I couldn’t stand it. I was sitting at the window watching their big chests panting, working hard to get enough air, saliva dripping from their mouths.

The flashing bright red light in my head that senses injustice, cruelty, etc., went off in a big, major way. It was all I could think about, intuition and all senses heightened, something was very wrong here.

I thought of my own big dog I lost less than a year ago, that look they give you, well, one of these guys had given me “the look.” I thought about the “wag more, bark less” bumper sticker on our car, how we’re animal people, dog lovers and to not do something was hypocritical just because this was an uncomfortable moment.

I asked if he could say something to the waitress, Richard knows the owner of the restaurant well, he motioned to her.

We showed her the dogs, she said the same thing about the one window being open and I noted hard panting, dripping saliva. She did talk to the folks, who apparently were not pleased with us getting into their business! Oh poor them! And with that, nothing else was done.

I could hardly stand it, by this time the dogs were laying down and I could no longer see them. This was one of those moments we stood inside the circle of influence, it hurt to know this raw moment had no soothing, happy ending.

I asked Richard if he knew who the dog owners were, he said the man owns a nursery north of town. We will not be buying any plants, seeds, or even a speck of dirt from them.

Would you have done anything differently? What would you do in that moment of truth when your intuition stirs to the point of not being able to ignore?

What would you do?

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

