Back to the Beginning: Tux (posted Dec. 11, 2009)


You know the feeling: heart racing, anxious, worried, heightened senses?  Yes, a trip to the vet, this time for my little black kitty. Despite the huge cost, I gave the go ahead to test Tux to see what might be wrong with her.

Her heart and liver are a little enlarged, not too much to be concerned about. She’s slightly anemic, and at this point cannot rule out tumors in her tummy. (Needless to say, with the last 2 1/2 years of battling Rudy’s Cancer, this is not helpful news.) Her blood sugar was up, but they suspect that due to adrenaline caused by the visit to the vet.

What they do think at this point is a change in diet would be helpful, a more bland boiled chicken and white rice and see how she does.

Tux did GREAT, they x-rayed her, took the samples they needed and she did not need to be sedated, the doctor said she’s just a really good cat. She is, she’s always been a very sweet kitty.

It’d be advisable for these folks, when they’re quoting how much this care is going to cost, to sedate the human first, or something! I put over $800 on my credit card because I was completely petrified of another animal’s health care crisis, and Tux’s care has been put on hold while Rudy was center stage.

I debated whether I’d done the right thing or not, but I have to know. Back in the day when work came easy, I had a financial buffer in my checking account alone of $1,000. Any time there was issue with one of the animals, they went to the vet, no question. Their care is priority, and still is. Certainly don’t have that kind of money or ability today, I have to take care of them.

They love us with their lives, the very least I can do is my utmost for them in return.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to the Beginning: Tux (posted Dec. 11, 2009)

  1. rumpydog says:

    I can relate to that feeling. I hope things go well for both.

  2. Thanks so much for taking the time to read my blog and comment, I always love hearing from folks! I am glad to say all is well. Take good care, I hope all is well with you. Wishing you the best today & always.

    Blessings, Love & Peace,
    RH

Leave a Reply

