Back to the Beginning: Sold! (posted Apr. 18, 2010)


It has been less than a week since the sale of the house closed. I’ve been in Montana for the last several weeks and let me tell you it’s quite a transition!

I was prepared to sell the house, furniture, outdoor furniture and even the contents of the shed and basement, including lawn mower and weed whacker. Nothing could prepare me for the actual sale. I’d hoped a young couple or young family would move into it.

I first learned a single man, first time home buyer was purchasing it, there were no closing costs involved, and I thought that was neat until the time came for the inspection. This has taken me a long time to understand and to this day does not sit well with me. He had his family construction business do the inspection. That’s odd.

Well, in this strange inspection report (which was only a few pages on the family’s letterhead), I thought I’d never seen anything like it. Now they were demanding odd things like me replace the windows! The windows work fine, they just didn’t want the single pane windows now. There were a few other things listed and I was dumbfounded. Certainly things are at breakneck speed and my spirit was disquieted.

I asked my listing agent if that is legal and he said there’s nothing in the contract stating the inspector has to be licensed in Washington State. That just didn’t feel right. I inquired online whether inspectors have to be licensed in this state and they do. I contacted the licensing agency, they confirmed my suspicions they were not licensed and it did indeed seem a conflict of interests.

They wanted me to pay $4,000 for the repairs they THEMSELVES allegedly found in my home. Granted, this guy is a first-time home buyer taking advantage of the $8,000 credit from the government, he has the audacity to try to leverage me using their own inspection report. It did not work. We countered with a few repairs we’d make and that would be that. They accepted it, we got the work done (like getting the windows to open that were paint shut), and minor stuff.

I was dragging my feet on this because it did not feel right and if someone is taking advantage of me, or the government’s program, I put up a fuss. My agent suggested I not be “emotional” about all this, and we shouldn’t discourage the escrow people from sending us the paperwork. I thought he was representing me, I understood it didn’t matter what was legal, illegal, or what. Wow.

I wrote the Attorney General for Washington State, the Governor, even the President of the United States, all before closing, and received no reply. I have reason to believe they will take the house, never live in it and flip it for a profit. After all that hard work!

Yes, the house is sold, I suppose I should be grateful, relieved, etc., but I’ll tell ya, when it goes against my grain, or intuition, it’s a tough pill to swallow.

Did I walk away with much money?  No.  I’d be lucky if I broke even, but am quite sure I lost money.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

