Back to the Beginning: Proof I CAN Cook…Sometimes! (posted Sept. 8, 2010)


The hummingbird feeders have no visitors, the squirrels are diligently storing their food for winter, and even the deer hides are changing with the weather.

Temps have dipped down close to freezing in some areas and with the end of the growing season comes root vegetables! Yum!

We received many potatoes and onions from the CSA the past few weeks and they were put to good use. Love both! This is the fruit of many hours labor in the kitchen this past weekend. (Or *maybe* by the end I was the fruit – LOL!)

If you’re familiar with Black Angus restaurants, you are probably already addicted to their Baked Potato Soup, it is divine (and I am really not much of a food person!)

You can find the recipe by going here: http://www.copykatchat.com/showthread.php?t=10503 or by Googling Stuart Anderson’s Black Angus Baked Potato Soup (long, isn’t it?!)

I initially found the recipe on recipezaar.com last year, they’ve since changed to food.com, I tried the site, it was slow and had a pop-up. Bleck. The recipe I’d printed out then shows the Calories 303, calories from fat 147 – yes, folks, their recipe is HALF FAT, this isn’t ice cream, people, it’s soup!

I made some modifications, using Smart Balance Omega-3 Light instead of butter, cut the amount of salt in half by using sea salt, and used Lactaid instead of half-and-half, and fat-free Tillamook Sour Cream. I’m curious what the caloric/fat values are with the modifications and would love to have an alternative to sauteing onions in butter!

I quadrupled the batch to use up all the potatoes and put some in freezer containers. It freezes well and thawed perfectly for lunch this afternoon.

I burned up a LOT of brain bucks making this, it took me pretty much all morning (although the recipe says the prep time is 10 minutes – ha – not for this brain injured chick!) and, of course, HAD to nap afterwards. Cooking is exhausting post-injury, that’s for sure. And for a gal who used to enjoy baking as I found it relaxing, cooking is quite a stretch!

Oh yeah, almost forgot, it took us FIVE grocery stores in a 65 mile radius to find white pepper. Who knew?!!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

