Back to the Beginning: Patriot Day 2010 – Introducing TBI Warrior (posted Sept. 11, 2010)


9/11. The date heard around the world. A crime against humanity experienced in real-time by our very own generation, making history, simultaneously weakening and strengthening mankind’s resolve.

If you’ve not heard Alan Jackson’s powerful song “Where Were You When The World Stopped Turning,” I hope you’ll Google it and/or the lyrics.

Where were you?

I was home getting ready for work. Because the office opened later that day, I heard the bewildering, frightening news on the radio as it happened. I fell to my knees crying and praying, I remembered an article I’d read years earlier in Reader’s Digest, I knew it was Osama Bin Laden. (This was before my TBIs).

I went to a prayer service that night, bawled and prayed, bawled and prayed, bawled and prayed. I was asked if I’d lost anyone, no I hadn’t. The events pierced my heart as they did for most, we felt the loss in the marrow of our bones.

We and others sent our brightest and best service men and women to fight a war against terrorism, to protect rights and freedoms gained by the sacrifice of prior generations, all which we hold dear. Because of this, we have a new generation of injured soldiers returning home from battle…many with TBIs.

I am pleased to introduce “TBI Warrior” who found me on Twitter. He is a Combat-Wounded Soldier working diligently to recover from a TBI sustained in Iraq and is reaching out to help others. Here is his insightful and inspiring blog: http://tbiwarriors.blogspot.com/

To be in contact with a soldier recovering from TBI is heart-warming, I’d hoped to bridge the gap between civilians and the military. You may recall my family served in WWII, my fiance served in Vietnam, gratitude for our service men and women is an understatement.

Today I wore my late Mom’s flag pin with a poppy from the American Legion. It’s Patriot Day in America, a day to remember the fallen, to honor our military and heroes who rush in where angels fear to tread.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to the Beginning: Patriot Day 2010 – Introducing TBI Warrior (posted Sept. 11, 2010)

  1. Pingback: 911: Somewhere in Between Heroic and Horrific | The Fight of My Life: Living with TBI

Leave a Reply

