Back to the Beginning: New Series – TBI Tools: Nutrition (posted Sept. 29, 2010)


I thought I’d like to start a series on tools I’ve found helpful post-injuries. In this journey sometimes simply getting a diagnosis, rehabilitation and support are a luxury as we stumble down a blind path in this unrecognizable new life.

Since I was able to get some rehab under my belt, I wanted to share what I can with others. Getting the right care, support and tools are crucial to salvaging what’s left of the old life, and build a foundation for a good ‘new’ life post-injury.

I’ve been out with several headaches and migraines this week and jokingly thought the first post would end up being on ice packs…oh how exciting! Wouldn’t be prudent! Yesterday was a good enough day for me I could tolerate not only washing, but juicing and thought it’d be a good foundational post to start with.

For me, nutrition has been a pretty big deal because of discovering food allergies as an adult. Recently I’ve learned with the inflammation that’s been terrorizing me that I could be doing myself a favor and look into foods that have natural anti-inflammatory properties.

That brought me back to juicing. It’s something I did every day for my dog and I while she struggled with Cancer. I called it her, “Puppy go juice” and making it for her gave me a strong sense of purpose. It did make a huge difference in her energy and may have not only extended her life, but gave her a much better quality too.

The produce in this photo is mainly from the CSA, with kale and parsley from our garden, and apples from the store. Got to love those colors, oh my gosh! Chard, beets, carrots, eggplant, apples, green peppers, cucumber, zucchini, etc…I’ll juice pretty much anything that can be juiced in the fruit and veggie family.

This is my juicer, it’s a Breville fancy schmancy, can’t remember the model, it has two speeds and so far works really great.

I can vouch for the LaLanne juicers as well as that was the first one I’d had, it lasted a couple years of daily juicing. I think they’re both very good. I bought this one off of eBay (it was a display model) and the LaLanne one I had earlier was a Costco purchase.

Because I’m not much of a cook and would like to maintain some decent nutrition and produce usually went bad before I consumed it, juicing was a good option for me.

I’m no nutritional saint by any means, I was raised on cakes, cookies, and all sorts of yummy fatty things, so still have a sweet tooth that is probably pretty dang hard wired. Cake is a weakness for me as my Mom worked from home before it was cool to do so and decorated cakes for a living. I like to say, “I’ve never met a cake I didn’t like.” Same goes for most sweets, really!

I figured Jack LaLanne has outlived a lot of people I know and as a non-veggie person thought if I could drink the greenest juice he had in his recipe book that came with the juicer, I’d have it made. I didn’t like the drink, I drank it all, and the funniest thing? I started craving veggies after my body got over the initial shock!

I’ve been told it’s important to stay hydrated and eat well, especially with Brain Injury. For me, I’ve found juicing helps me do both.

It is a big investment in time, energy and money, but, a good return on the investment. I have heard of people who bought juicers and do not use them. If juicing is something you’re curious about, I’d suggest doing research first and maybe purchasing a lower end juicer on the secondary market to see if it’s something you enjoy.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to the Beginning: New Series – TBI Tools: Nutrition (posted Sept. 29, 2010)

  1. Tammy says:

    I think I need to acquire one of those breville juicers!

    • If you do, let me know what you think! I bought mine after a lot of research, and what pushed me to buy was seeing it on Martha Stewart’s show. That sure made an impression! : Thanks for your comment. 🙂

      Best to you today & always.

      Blessings, Love & Peace,
      RH

Leave a Reply

