Back to the Beginning: Helmet Awareness Day (posted July 10, 2010)


If you’re on any equestrian supply mailing list chances are you received information about today being Helmet Awareness Day. I did a brief Google search and indeed it does seem to be focusing mainly on horseback riding. It would be nice to see this day of awareness spread to other sports!

On that note, I’ve found it interesting living here in Montana where there are no helmet laws for motorcyclists. I’ve seen some folks wearing them, most do not. I’ve also found it ironic schools give away free bicycle helmets to kids at schools yet at the same time adults do not model this safety measure.

When Richard and I attended the Brain Injury support group here in town one gal had received her TBI from a terrible fall from a horse. She was not wearing a helmet, and, as the snowboarder in attendance agreed, there would be no helmet the next time either. I can’t tell you how much this surprises me! It’s bad enough to have one accident, but to not protect yourself further may indicate another Catch-22 of Brain Injury, we don’t often make the best decisions. I was also surprised the moderator of the group didn’t address this.

A couple weeks ago Richard and I attended a going away gathering for friends of his moving soon. We learned the gal who had been to our yard sale earlier this summer (please see previous post about the yard sale), anyway, she also had a terrible wreck. Her horse went one way, she went the other. Her husband said he had just gotten her a helmet for riding – and guess what – the fall to the rocks below cracked the helmet and broke the straps.

I asked the husband if his wife had been checked out for Brain Injury, he said they did a good job at Prompt Care (I seriously DOUBT it!) and then the hospital followed up with an MRI. I told him that wouldn’t necessarily show anything. While he downplayed what I was saying I made sure to tell him if he notices any changes in the near future of her not quite being herself that she may indeed have a closed Head Injury. Denying the possibility of her potential injury does not make it go away. Behold the power of denial!

All I can say is “one head per customer!” We only get the one brain we’re given, sure it can’t stop a Closed Head Injury or Concussion from occurring, but why not protect that beautiful brain of yours just to be on the safe side?

It only takes one wreck, one split second, to devastate a life forever…

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to the Beginning: Helmet Awareness Day (posted July 10, 2010)

  1. Be there done that… thank goodness I was wearing a helmet. Everyone needs to read this. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

