Back to the Beginning: Bank Issues (posted May 3, 2010)


I am of the many disabled folks on Disability for whom a representative payee is required. We’ve gone through the paperwork to have Richard take that position and all seemed well until it came time to deal with Bank of America.

I’d been with Bank of America (formerly Seafirst Bank) since childhood! Moving here I closed my account and switched to First Interstate Bank (an entirely wrong choice…but I digress.) I had ease of use with Bank of America online bill pay, checking, savings, you name it, they were great.

So we open an account online and all is well…until we hear from Social Security that the account has to have my name on it although I cannot have access. No big deal we figure, just call BoA and get the name on the account changed.

No can do. We talked to several Customer Service agents, even chatted online thinking someone would have the sense enough to resolve this. Oh no, they can’t do that over the phone or online, get this, we have to go to a banking center to simply change the name on the account. There are no Bank of America banking centers in the entire state of Montana.

They have the audacity to tell us we have to go to the nearest banking center 550 miles away (one way)! Yes, they were completely serious! The spiral of difficult issues with BoA continued, they’ve made it so distasteful and ridiculous we’re taking our business elsewhere. We opened an account in town, no problem! They appreciate our business and even gave us a gift for opening the account. Ah, a bank appreciating it’s customers, what a concept!

Richard tried to get Bank of America to return the funds to his bnnk, they’d transfered the funds to Bank of America to secure the account, they said they couldn’t do that either. What the???!!! Today he wrote himself a BoA check for the full amount he deposited and will tell BoA to close the account.

Crazy, absolutely crazy people at BoA. The kind people at the bank in town? Oh, as an act of courtesy, they got in touch with Social Security, everything is set up, clean, simple. Complete peace of mind versus the drama with BoA.

As much as I once liked Bank of America and miss their easy online site, I’ll never go back and certainly cannot recommend them after this shenanigan.

The next thing to figure out is whether I will keep doing business with First Interstate. They are terrible! No wonder they are no longer in Washington state and many other states!

I need to do some research on credit unions, I’ve heard good things about them. Hopefully they’re far more mindful than the two banks I’ve been dealing with lately. Surely some financial institutions appreciate their customers!

If you happen to have success with a credit union and wouldn’t mind sharing, I’d sure appreciate the good word.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to the Beginning: Bank Issues (posted May 3, 2010)

  1. Pingback: Bank of America | The Fight of My Life: Living with TBI

Leave a Reply

