Back to the Beginning: Animal Welfare in My Neighborhood (posted July 1, 2010)


I went to the local animal shelter and asked to report Friday’s incident. The gal at the shelter only had a minute or two to take my statement and had to go to rescue a dog running along the highway.

I said I could take a form with me if they had one and return it tomorrow (they’re only open a few hours each day, such is small town life, but at least there is a shelter here.) They had no form, so I told her the details.

Long story short, there was nothing she could do. Apparently one has to call in the moment the act of cruelty is happening, and this is not something I’m used to as a suburbs or city girl. She said for me to call Dispatch next time and she would come out and talk to the people and if she got attitude like we did, she would give them a citation.

I asked if she had a card, she said she’d run out so handed me the Dispatch number on a Post-it Note. Now, what I don’t know is if I call after hours like the time the incident happened, would they be able to help or not?

I am not at peace with this and have not yet figured out the next step. Perhaps contact the Montana State Humane Society or Humane Society of America just to have this incident on record somewhere.

The fact the dog owners were as uncaring as they were is a red flag, and perhaps why my heart cannot let this be. If I had known there was nothing the authorities could do after the incident, I would have gone out there and done something in that moment although an act of kindness could indeed get me in trouble somehow!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

