Back to the Beginning: Tough 24 Hours (posted Nov. 24, 2009)


My dear dog Rudy has stopped eating her normal food. She’s moving pretty slow and this morning I tried juicing for her, she lapped it a couple of times and walked away. I then just made apple juice thinking that’d taste better to her and same results.

She’s still wagging her tail tiredly, gets up and around from time to time, maybe she just needs to rest and will rebound, I don’t know.

She did enjoy several slivers of a green bell pepper, her favorite veggie. The Brussels Sprout I gave her yesterday is still on the floor. I’m offering her the supplements that help her joints but even those are not going over well.

Another cycle of wait and see, do everything I know to do, watching and listening very carefully. She does not seem to be in pain, and when she lies down on her bed, her breathing seems a little labored.

I’ve never been one to embrace or accept death very well, but I think the more I can honor that as a natural part of life, the more present and available I am for Rudy in the moment, no matter what.

It may be a difficult Thanksgiving week and I’m concerned being gone all day Thursday for the family gathering several counties away.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On another front, I just received a quote for getting my house hooked up to sewer since the septic is waning. I’m going to the City for a low-interest loan to replace it (yeah, further debt), so far, the bids range between $8,900 and $10,000. At any rate, it will be nice to have fixed and taken care of for my remainder of time here, and have a new system for the next folks.

Oh, and my doctor hasn’t okayed my sleep medicine refill so I’ve been going without. Honestly, if I could live without the stuff I would! However, Brain Injury changed everything. This gal who never had trouble falling asleep before can’t get to sleep and wakes up a lot. We’ll see how it goes, I’ll contact my Neurologist and see what he thinks. I’ve tried other meds, OTC, and prescriptions and they didn’t work.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

