Back to the Beginning: Quiet House (posted Nov. 27, 2009)


Coming home to the Rudy-less house was something I tried to prepare myself for, she won’t greet me at the door with wags and smiles. Seems the heart knows one thing while the mind knows another.

I miss her terribly. I miss having my canine pal to talk to, sing with, joke with. It is so quiet here now. (It’s just not the same trying to talk to the cats.)

My eyes kept looking over to her bed, not consciously, and would encounter a sadness each time wishing she were there. I finally decided to remove her bed from my sight to help me adjust to her not being here. Maybe it will help, not having visual reminders, I don’t know.

She was part of my life for ten years, that’s a long time. She was also in the car accident with me on the freeway.

I am sad, missing my friend. I am sure I will continue to sob as the waves of grief hit, I am allowing this sorrow to have its course.

Thank you, Rudy, for teaching me things only a wise, patient canine heart could, for letting me love you and be loved by you. Now I see why dog people are so upset when they lose their canine friend.

My heart has not been at ease since Rudy was diagnosed over two and a half years ago. Time, and loving on the animals still on this earth will help heal and bring warm memories to surface.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

