Back to the Beginning: Progress (posted Aug. 15, 2009)


I’m kind of offline working on things around the house right now, St. Vincent de Paul will be picking up an ever growing pile of donations on Monday.

Still reeling from good news, yes, us Brain Injured folks, well, everything costs us, good news and bad. I am grateful for the good news, however, and thanking God. Now I just wish to be able to turn and help others on this same path as well as take utmost care of myself.

I went to the Farmer’s Market today, I woke up around 3am and couldn’t sleep so got up and worked on an eBay auction. Since I was up so early, I got to the Market at 9:00 which was awesome because it wasn’t busy – and – no loud music playing!

Looking forward to juicing tomorrow, can’t get much fresher than local, what a difference in taste.

I’m giving away a TV stand that was given to me, I’ve tried repeatedly to sell it on craigslist and have someone who expressed interest from the local freecycle group where I posted it. Will be glad to get that out of the hallway.

Glad to have a bit more energy yet I tire so very easily and my injured brain is quite high maintenance.

It is a daunting project, really, selling on eBay, giving things away. Like the Occupational Therapist said, if I can tell myself this is temporary and can do it for maybe six months I can do it. She reminded me last week this stress is not something I can sustain.  And, as I know from experience, the less I own, the less I maintain.

Oh – and a bit more good news, I received my Unemployment compensation for the several weeks I’ve been filing for since I lost my job in June. What a relief. Oh my gosh. I told the Occupational Therapist I’m having a heck of a time living my life focusing on money and she said she can understand that, but again, try to remember it’s temporary.

Another project I want to get back to is scanning and saving photos to CD. Much to do, but on the one hand, with my family being as detached as it is, and always has been, I’m feeling freer to let go of what I term “The Mighty O.”

I worshipped the family “Obligation” all my life and took care of my family after Mom passed away. I do love them, but only in a healthy, balanced way now. Sometimes being made to let go of that which drains us is a good thing…because it was never good for us in the first place.

I packaged up a HUGE 26 pound box of old family photos and sent it off to my Brother and Sister-in-Law in Arkansas.  They’re the only ones if the family who have stable housing, I don’t know where I’ll be ending up so have to get rid of as much as I can.

Life and perspective, growth and learning, I am grateful.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

