Back to the Beginning: No Travel Today (Rudy) (posted Nov. 26, 2009)


No Travel Today (Rudy)
I believe Rudy is in the process of dying, she has completely stopped eating. She continues to drink water, go outside to potty, but for the most part, has that ‘faraway’ look and seems lost.

She sniffs at food as if she is interested, maybe tiredly wags her tail, and then walks away. I can’t make her eat and I don’t know what else to do, I’ve tried everything. I tell her it’s okay, she’s a good girl. (Love in the beginning, love in the middle, love in the end.)

Last night around 10 pm, she threw up, she threw up again this morning around 7 am. I went to the grocery store last night in hopes I could get her some more turkey to keep her holding on until tomorrow when I hope the vet would be in his office. The timing of this around the holiday is tough.

I had moved her bed into my room, but this morning she returned to her usual spot, so I brought her bed back out. I noticed her bed was wet, maybe she is losing bladder control too.

I trust her body’s wisdom in this process and there is something/someone who loves her way beyond what I do.

I am, however, quite naturally, a wreck. I had printed directions, my ferry tickets, everything I needed to get to the Thanksgiving dinner today and I’m not going. My dog has never wavered in being there for me, this is the least I can do if this is her time to transition from this world.

I will need to call my family as soon as I can this morning to let them know. It would be nice to have their support, not guilt or disappointment, but we’ll see. My dog’s love has never wavered, my family’s, I wish I could say the same.

I’ve put a half circle of bowls of food out for her, ranging from raw eggs to kibble to soup and chicken broth. Nothing appeals.

I will blog as I can when I can, in between times of snuggling and being there for Rudy.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to the Beginning: No Travel Today (Rudy) (posted Nov. 26, 2009)

  1. Pingback: Insomnia, the cat, and crying at the kitchen table | The Fight of My Life

Leave a Reply

