Back to the Beginning: Neuro Psych (posted Sept. 3, 2009)


Today was the Neuro Psych exam, Richard and I returned here Tuesday evening after a very, very long day of driving and rest stops.

The test went well, I left the house at 8:30 this morning with map printed in hand (yes, I’ve been there several times before but can’t recall which street it’s on) and needed to be on time or as close as I possibly could be. I finished up before or around 3:00 pm and then rested in my car until safe.

I did not recall any of the testing, but later remembered some of the things we had done before. It is what Brain Injured folks call “brutal.” I am glad it’s over.

I forgot my coat, something to eat, and even to bring water, but I got to the appointment and I’ll take that as success! I forgot other things today, trivial things that really don’t matter in the big picture of life, but do keep me off balance, feeling quite adrift and lost moment-to-moment. Being sure of myself is one thing I miss a lot.

I managed to fall twice while at Richard’s apparently I really can do only one thing at a time, walking downstairs and talking is hazardous! I only fell a couple of steps and made a joke out of it, but it did manage some soreness as well as bent back my big toe nail on the right foot.

I also fell taking my dog Rudy out to go potty, I didn’t see the hole in the ground, again my right foot took the brunt and I fell on my previously injured sitting bones. Some injuries are more difficult than others to heal.

I am significantly tired and am trying to stay focused on all that has to yet be done. I am wearing Richard’s Grandmother’s ring, I am thrilled. Richard was in the shower at the time and let me give his office another look through. An act of trust on his part, and honestly, quite uncomfortable to me. I asked God where they were and going through things I almost didn’t even check the plastic bag the rings had been in. Yes, we have rings for both of us, and yes, we’re both wearing them.

We are committed to each other in word and in deed and it is refreshing not to mention petrifying! I continue to do the things I need to to get the house prepared, but with a greater sense of purpose and meaning. To have someone I can trust and be fully myself with is a gift and something to be a good steward of.

Before I left Richard staked out the foot print for the barn where my horse will be. I’ll be able to look out the window and know every day she’s okay. My life has been in such turmoil these last several years, the thought of hope for the future is definitely a warm fuzzy!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

