Back to the Beginning: Grateful (posted Nov. 19, 2009)


Just got word from Unemployment I am eligible for an extension as my benes exhausted this week. I was worried I’d have to dive into my meager savings, feared more debt, and continual dire survival. After ongoing stress, this is a welcome reprieve.

Today has been a dark, rainy, melancholy type of day. It’s the day I’ve needed to face for a long time, boxing up stored childhood treasures to get rid of. It is a strange thing to let go of all I’d learned to grasp and hold onto. It definitely feels like a groundless, surreal moment, certainly not how we were raised to move into a home and stay there for 30+ years.

This home and owning a lot of unused stuff are too much for me post-injuries. Clutter and deferred maintenance drain brain bucks in split seconds and are overwhelming. I see why people get help doing this type of work.

I went through a box of my Late Mom’s tools she used for sewing and crafting. I’m grateful Mom modeled respect and care for her tools, so much so, even over 25 years since her passing, they’re in excellent shape. Someone will get years of enjoyment from them.

I am grateful I only have to do this process once.

Although today is a work day of moving clutter, I am grateful for the awareness when to stop and rest. I caught myself once already ricocheting off the stairway walls – hello, that’s a sign! The new body pain from the most recent fall is also a sign to pay attention, listen, slow down. Not easy for this ex-Type A!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

