Back to the Beginning: Don’t Fall! (posted Nov. 16, 2009)


“Be careful out there, don’t fall,” she added, “and call me if you do.”

Her words rang in my head as I sat there contorted and embarrassed on the fence stile, too ironic to fathom in the moment. It hadn’t been more than ten or fifteen minutes prior I was telling her my new injury has caused me to lose balance, so when I get dizzy, it’s time to stop whatever I’m doing. I must rest.

No one saw me fall, and no, I didn’t call. At age 42 falls do not make sense to me. I had been extra careful, holding onto the fence post for added safety or so I thought when my right leg went out from under me and I landed on my right sitting bones, left leg bent underneath and right elbow taking the brunt. Owie. Nothing broken.

Not too many weeks ago I saved myself from an almost fall, but in the act of saving myself managed to injure a lot of the places that were healing from the February side swipe accident.

Here I am again, having physically fallen, breathing deeply, trying to accept reality as it is, and oh how I’ve made friends with my ice pack lately! The bump on my elbow has gone down, my right hip and sitting bones hurt, but I’m still here and I have things to do…slowly!

Falls remain the number 1 cause of Head Injury. Drats! But thank God I did not hit my noggin. Hopefully the gray matter didn’t get shaken up too much.

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change (things like Brain Injury, gravity)

Courage to change the things I can (my response, outlook, attitude, find humor, make jokes, etc.)

And the wisdom to know the difference.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

