Home Ownership and Philosophical Ponderings (posted Feb. 21, 2009)


My mind, as much of our nation, and world, has been focused, still, on housing.

Last week I heard back from one of the few people I inquired of regarding housing resources for the disabled, and he gave me some links to check out, but all in all, after all my searching, praying, and hoping, my hope wanes.

It just seems this is part of the path we folks with any sort of illness, disability, or any other sort of thing which takes us out of ‘the norm’ deals with. Most everyone with TBI loses everything, I’ve heard from many, many people yet, in my head, it doesn’t stay said.

I guess it doesn’t set well with me because we’re taught to dream. We’re taught home ownership is part of the American Dream…and no one said there were stipulations or exceptions to that dream!

Even the Bible says without a vision people perish. We all need something to look forward to, we need to have hope for tomorrow.

It seems those of us who need to have the stability of home the most should be able to have that need met. I need peace, quiet, an environment I can control. My home is my everything, it is my work space, my gym, my church, my world. I need special accommodations, labels on drawers and cupboards, proper lighting, and the list of needs is really endless.

Who decides who gets to own a home and who doesn’t? The person in the million dollar mansion and the person in the tiny, dilapidated apartment have the same needs. Everyone has to have a place to live. Some live in luxury while many, many others live in constant strife. Why is such a basic need so terribly difficult to fulfill?

If man is indeed created equal, we have equal rights, why doesn’t that extend to economic circumstances, dignity, basic needs like a home of our own?

Can’t a person who wishes to be true to her heart, values, beliefs, get the help she needs? I am fully aware of people who cheat the system or do whatever it takes to remain comfortable, but there’s something in my faith and conscience which refuse that idea entirely.

What about the folks who have no desire to cheat or steal from the system?

A person can do all the right things and still end up losing everything in the end. Why in the world is that okay? Why do we allow that to be okay? I’m not the only one.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

