Back to the Beginning: Work is Done and So Am I! (posted Apr. 19, 2009)


Forcing an injured brain is like making a couch potato run a marathon! It may get you to the finish line, but I doubt it’s pretty or inspiring – LOL!

It’s not often I’m handed a bunch of reports and asked to get them done in 24 hours or less, I usually quote my turnaround time as within 24 hours of receiving reports. But – that was before this last injury, and never a bunch at the same time.

I am exhausted and pushed my little brain to its limits. My brain did not wish to show up, so I bribed it with caffeine. It worked for a little bit, I think, but my brain is just injured and needs TLC not a drill sergeant. Sometimes I wonder what it would be like to be able to fully take care of myself without the bundle of cumulative stress.

This week I have appointments only during the latter part of the week and I am thankful for that. Just getting to and from all the appointments is exhausting and my next big task is to call all care providers to find out how much of my PIP coverage has been used.

I’m neither great at paperwork or numbers, so this will take some doing. The Social Worker at rehab is on vacation until next week, so despite my longing for help, will try this one on my own. I’ve got to get a handle on this.

It’s funny being this tired and so blessed sensitive to stimuli. What do I do to relax? There’s no music on, no watching TV to chill out, no going anywhere. My eyes and brain are tired and it’s been a loud day around the house. The valley behind my house is the main road now that the other road is closed and it’s a nice day, the thunder of Harley Davidsons echoes and at times can actually make things on the wall shake.

Seeing as I spent the last several days with earplugs in, my ears are sore (I took them out sometime overnight).

For now, I can think of nothing else to say other than best to you all for now.

In a parody on the 23rd Psalm:

My brain is my shepherd I shall not want,
and boy, does it ever, MAKE me lie down! LOL đŸ™‚

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

