Back to the Beginning: Wheels! (posted Mar. 11, 2009)


Brother Frank delivered me safely to the repair shop to pick up my car this evening. He will be having surgery of his own Monday, if your heart is stirred, please keep him in your prayers.

I’m going back to calling the car “The Dent Mobile!” Oh gosh, I haven’t left the house since March 2. Wow, long time of unexpected confinement. Expensive, yes, this car has been on its last legs for a long, long time, but am grateful to have wheels again.

There are other repairs it should have that I’ve been living with, and one day she’ll give up the ghost for the last time, resuscitating will not be affordable or reasonable. I’ll deal with that then.

For those of us with disability, we pretty much live in our own permanent financial recession. I can only hope and pray now that middle class folks are feeling the pinch there may be more compassion and change for those without a voice as a result of this struggle and suffering.

I then was able to get finally to Costco to get some produce (big yeah!), much to my sorrow I noticed my dog’s Cancer is out of remission and she is once again gaining bumps and acting differently. I see a correlation between my being able to afford good food for us (juicing fresh fruits and veggies) and her health. No need for scientific data here, the results are crystal clear.

I have to find a way to be able to continue juicing. It’s tough enough to finally get to where I can no longer afford a raw foods (meat) diet for her as I had been doing in the mornings. The toll on my heart is incredible, she is my responsibility and I believe in being a good animal steward in forever homes…man’s best friend!

Animals love us with their lives, the very least I can do is my utmost in return!

The next step will be to see if I can find freezer burned meats on freecycle or craigslist to help get her back on raw foods. I’ll tell ya, in this rugged patch of disability, there are just things that pierce my heart. [Must change subject, I’m getting misty-eyed!]

I gave my recorded statement to the at-fault party’s insurance, a load off my mind! Fearful I’d forget details I jacked up on caffeine, praying, “Brain, don’t fail me now!” I find those recorded statements unnerving.

I am glad my Dad and Step Mom called this evening to update me on Dad’s condition and to firm up plans for a family gathering this weekend, I had it on my calendar, but not in my mind! Confused about dates as I sometimes get, I wasn’t realizing the 14th is this weekend, just a couple days away.

Tomorrow will be errands like finally getting to the Post Office to check my box (yeah, I’m free! I’m free!) and Friday must be a full day of pretty much nothing but sleep in preparation for travel and family time Saturday.

This will be our Christmas that got canceled as well as a celebration of my Dad’s 86th birthday. One brother is flying in from out of state Friday for this event, hopefully the rest of us will be there. Almost losing Dad last summer after open heart surgery, I hope my brothers will be able to be there and embrace this moment.

The chiropractic exam I’d hoped to have already had to be postponed twice due to the car being in the shop. Guess third time is a charm, eh?! At any rate, I’ll be glad to get checked out, waking up several times from pain is something I’d forgotten about. Getting used to pain during the day is one thing, but wowza, what a rude awakening – terrible pun intended! 🙂

Tuesday morning I’m scheduled to take the car into the at-fault party’s insurance company.

Better believe I’m praying for safety traveling in that car again! 🙂

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

