Back to the Beginning: Vehicles Down, Pain Up / Dad (posted Mar. 5, 2009)


Could not get my car started today, so missed my weekly appointment and errand time that I look forward to every week. I’d taken the car in before to have them try to fix it, they simply found it wasn’t the starter or the battery, but something in the column that if put in Neutral to start, it would.

I tried that several times, going back to Park and Neutral, and finally had to give up the ghost. I called the auto shop and asked if I could have it towed in today and they said yes. So I called AAA and they came promptly to tow her away.

No telling how much that will cost. I do have a mechanic who is honest and doesn’t take advantage of people which is great.

I had also tried starting my truck, but since it’s been sitting idle too long I suspect the battery is dead. I asked AAA if they could jump that too, but they said they would consider that two of the four service calls I get per year. Yikes! I had them just tow the car in.

I called and rescheduled my chiropractor appointment until Tuesday, the pain is increasing, but this is real life.

My Dad had surgery today which sounds like it turned out okay, my Step-Mom was saying she didn’t know how much more of this she can bear, doctor after doctor appointment. So far so good, I’m staying on the sunny side. If he pulls through this one well, he should be able to walk better in due time. This surgery was bladder surgery, so that’s a tender one.

Dad just kind of takes these things in stride, like his open heart surgery was “no big deal.” Boy was it ever! I think that ‘can-do’ attitude from WWII is a way of life, I’ve heard it from other veterans. They have so much to teach us, and they do by the way they live their lives.

I’m getting a little cabin fever, so will see if I go walking tomorrow how far I will go. The Post Office is several miles away, but I missed my weekly stopping by to check it. We’ll see. It’s tough to walk along traffic because of the noise, maybe earplugs or music? Who knows, maybe I won’t go at all, or maybe fashion out a quieter route if possible.

I’m glad to be within walking distance of the neighborhood grocery store, though. Getting groceries was on my list to do today too. I’m feeling better for being able to juice a little the last couple of days. It’s a treat to have the healing nutrients of fruits and veggies. My dog loves it, it sure helps with her Cancer. She gets all excited!

I googled the map, it’s a 5 mile trip round trip to the Post Office, that’s a pretty good walk. That would be a good challenge for me. Two pretty good size hills. We’ll see how the old bones are feeling in the morrow!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

