Back to the Beginning: Unlocking Help (posted May 24, 2009)


Blessings to all those who serve and have served our country. Growing up with a Dad and Grandparents that served in WWII, I have utmost respect for our service men and women. God bless you!

Yesterday I spent resting, more than anything, but did manage to get the front gutters cleaned. If I had money to hire someone, I would. I’m not supposed to be on ladders (balance), but what’s a person to do?

I took frequent breaks, napped, and drank cool water. I am glad I got it done, but by the end knew I really shouldn’t be doing this as I’d lost my balance on the A-frame ladder.

Scared me, didn’t fall, but enough to propel me into my need for help…plus, with the exhaustion of one simple chore, I couldn’t get out of bed this morning. Glued to bed. When I did get up, my balance was way, way off, it was a slow go. My intentions for going anywhere delayed.

I’ve been wearing earplugs all day to give me more peace and quiet, and spent most of this beautiful spring day sleeping too.

If I don’t clean the gutters with all our rainfall, the water cascades and pools in front of the house and then floods the basement.

This is really an awkward issue of trying to get help, this is not the first time I’ve been here and calls for help whether from friends or family, or even the church I used to attend have fallen short.

I mentioned to a friend from the church I used to attend a couple years ago, it’s quite telling when another religion offers to help me and my own won’t, he said “Tell me about it!”

I guess it’s not just me. My Dad is in the rehab after his hip surgery and his wife’s church came to visit him, bringing a crocheted prayer shawl, but the church he attends (the same I used to attend and serve at too years ago), didn’t call, visit, etc.

And it’s tough too, because getting help from folks can include a lot of ‘noise’, by that I mean, intrusive questions, ulterior motives, training new people about Brain Injury, having new people around the house – who can I trust? A lot of movement, stimuli, etc. It’s a lot of work just to get help!

I think it’s also hard to need people long-term, and there’s no straight path a person can step onto for the help they need. I really need an advocate or life manager who can do all this for me and I could focus on resting and getting better. That’s a perfect scenario, but this is real life!

I’ve often wondered what combination takes to unlock the help we need. Seeing my Dad and Grandparents live lives of service, and the volunteering I did before all this, I can’t help but wonder, where’s the help?! It is much easier for me to live as a giver than a person needing the help, that’s for sure!!!

If I could do anything for folks with Brain Injury, I’d create a circle of help for each person or family with volunteers who could help with house, yard, whatever chores. That support would be life-changing! They’d be Brain Injury angels in my book.

Back to rest for me, those trips up and down the ladder did a number on my hips and strained my neck pretty good…not to mention fried brain matter!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

