Back to the Beginning: Support Group Tonight and Humor (posted May 14, 2009)


I learned at support group tonight the conference I went to has been videotaped and will be available online and I am so pleased! I look forward to viewing the sessions again, especially the afternoon ones where I was more physically present than mentally (brain fatigue).

Tonight the facilitators shared the new Brain Injury resource library of books, CDs, DVDs, and other materials we could check out for several months at a time. Nice!

It was also a time of socializing, I was able to speak with the Occupational Therapist who’d attended the conference too. I told her I was glad I was able to get a room following the conference because when I went to the lobby I felt the floor move.

She told me she wasn’t going to leave the conference until I had a room. She wasn’t sure if she was going to have to drive me home, pay for my room that night or what, but I was not in any shape to get into a car!

She said there’s another gal in our group who hasn’t attended for a while who faced almost losing everything and things turned around for her and she actually got better. She said she holds out that hope for me, she just has to.

I said I contacted Craig Sicilia from the conference to see if he could help get my story out, he said he would be glad to help, and Janice said that was great. We talked about how hard it is for me to put myself out there.

She said she bet I was never that open or vulnerable even before the accidents, true. I think I made a joke about sharing my story (for me anyway) is like being an Emotional Flasher opening up my overcoat and flashing the world! LOL! 🙂 That still makes me laugh!!!

She said even though it’s difficult to do, she just has a sense something good is going to come out of this.

I said one of the things I learned at the conference was the gentleman who works with the soldiers at Madigan Army Hospital. He talked about how Brain Injured folks get a baseline and then when we’re exposed to stress, the baseline symptoms appear again. (I wish I could write it as he said it, this is the gist of it.)

I said that was a very insightful moment because I think the reason I’m struggling so much is I’m searching for my new baseline as it changes after each accident. She agreed.

It was really nice to get to chat with folks tonight, to encourage and support the newcomers, and, make the experienced folks laugh with Brain Injury humor only we can understand. Ever since I was a little girl I’ve loved making people laugh, so glad that is still there. 🙂

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

