Back to the Beginning: Respect Thy Brain (posted Mar. 23, 2009)


While laying in bed this entire weekend due to a cold bug, more of reality has dawned on me following that little bump that happened to my car last month.

Feeling terribly run down last week, noticing an unusual amount of ongoing irritability toward my dog, I realized I needed to get myself together…she hadn’t suddenly changed, I had! I’m not treating my dog like she’s my best friend!

Friday night, I decided to hunker down, put in the earplugs, take my sleep meds and recharge these over run brain batteries. In the middle of the night I was woken by her barking and barking non-stop. Naturally I yelled at her to quiet down, but she would not.

I looked out my window, and despite being blocked by fencing, trees, and a steep embankment, I saw different colors of flashing lights and noticed everything was very, very dark.

My dog would not settle down, once I removed the earplugs, I heard someone coming onto my property, going into the backyard, and flashing a flashlight into the sky overhead. I could hear his radio making noise. Being the good protector dog she is, she was telling me, “Intruder! Intruder!” And me, being the belligerent human until I understood, kept telling her to quiet. (Oh the patience animals have with us…)

It turns out I slept through a pretty big car chase and crash. The police had been pursuing this person who had been driving recklessly, rearranging some of the landscape. It must have been a pretty high speed chase to take down a power pole. The man’s car was on fire, he was pulled from his car and taken to the hospital, the car fire safely put out.

The road was then closed and we were without power for a long time…it’s always a long time when you have no heat or Internet! LOL! I’ve yet to hear more about the man in the accident, last I read, the authorities were checking to see if alcohol was involved.

I didn’t go check things out in the daylight, I stayed in bed with this head cold realizing it’s probably been my overdoing it that merited me this cold in the first place.

I have to go back to one of the basics of Brain Injury which is honor or respect thy brain. As I read in “Brainlash”, the brain will ask you nicely to rest once…then it will make you!

I realized I was extra tired after the crash but kept adding a little more caffeine, after all, I was just a little over tired, or so I thought! And yes, the daily crying thing is still present, and that, is a big sign to me now, to rest, my brain is tired.

Oh – and I nearly forgot. In the early hours of Saturday while the power was out and I was up, I decided to light some candles. Granted, at this stage of TBI I’ve learned no open flames. No problem, I thought.

So I light a candle in a glass and from that I light a little votive candle, go to place it in its glass container and I dropped it! Gasp! God must have been looking out for that driver and myself because it was picked up before it burned anything. Geesh! This dropping stuff all the time now is something else.

Yes, I am being careful, and praying for my own safety and for those who will, by the natural course of things, join the ranks of us TBIers. We have a lot of people to be praying for. May God protect us, and our loved ones, keeping us from our own harm, and the harm of others.

Life – what a trip!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

