Back to the Beginning: Photo Sensitivity (posted Apr. 2, 2009)


I may have found a workaround for my light sensitivity or photo sensitivity, as is officially termed.

I think a good portion of brain fatigue can be chalked up to the light sensitivity. I’d cut out TV and was limiting time here even though I dimmed both monitors as much as possible, my eyes were bothering me, tiring easy.

I find for now listening to TV is enough, and “listened” to Oprah this afternoon (with my sleep mask on – it was divine!) I took off the sleep mask at commercials so I could mute them. I imagine I would have looked very silly to an outsider.

It is a strange thing to be sensitive to stimuli now, us folks with TBI often feel a sense of relief when a noise or lights are dimmed.

I realized I haven’t really been opening the drapes during the day, regular daylight seems to be too much.

And, I’ve found wearing sunglasses here at the computer seems to help keep my head from hurting as bad. I’m still taking breaks often, which in itself is still so counter intuitive for this ex-Type A Personality!

I’m finding frustration with things not sticking in my head like listening to Oprah, I think that means my brain needs more healing. I even returned the books on CD I’d checked out of the library a month ago. The material I was listening to was relaxing before, now it’s irritating.

And I find it tremendously odd, the crutch I used before to speed up my brain a bit, caffeine, isn’t working at all now. I can’t shake the feeling of wanting to wake up my sleeping noggin.

I feel like I should be wearing a sign saying, “We’re sorry, all circuits are busy!”

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

