Back to the Beginning: Neurologist (posted Mar. 26, 2009)


Met with the Neurologist today and he pretty much summed it up that often times when whiplash is involved in an accident, Brain Injury can occur too.

He believes my dropping things and balance issues, along with other cognitive things I’ve noticed are indeed due to injury to my brain. Funny he mentioned starting with acceptance since I really didn’t think it was that big of a hit.

I have an MRI scheduled for Monday to see if there is damage or bleeding in the brain, and blood work to get done today to check for B12 levels.

I tried to find the clinic to have the blood work drawn, but could not find it. I will try again later, after some rest and mapping it online. The receptionist gave me directions, but heck if I could find the place, and I’m pretty sure I’ve seen it before, I just can’t remember where.

The Neurologist shared about a story he heard of a human crash test dummy and how he’s done all sorts of crashes, slow and fast and is okay. It’s a mystery to him (and to me!) how some people end up with Brain Injuries and others can be okay. Guess that’s the million dollar question!

The Neurologist also suggested something I think is called Neuro Bio Feedback which he was pretty sure would not be covered by the PIP coverage, but may be worth looking into for a couple of sessions if I could swing it.

I’m heading to get some rest, more appointments follow this afternoon and tomorrow. Just wanted to write a couple of things while they’re fresh in my mind.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

