Back to the Beginning: My Personal Housing Crisis (posted May 12, 2009)


These are the roads I’ve been down trying to find a solution to my housing crisis. Speaking of driving and looking for signs as an analogy for Brain Injury, we can clearly see where these roads take me…no where fast!

HUD – last year attended what I was told over the phone was a “Distressed Home Owner’s Class” which could help me in my situation, but when I got there, it was a certification class for bankruptcy, which is what I’m fighting to keep myself from falling into.

I spoke with the presenter one-on-one afterwards, asked if there was help available for folks with disabilities, she pointed to the brochure I’d picked up for new home buyers with disabilities, I should contact them, and let her know what I find out. [Dead end]

SOCIAL WORKER – There simply aren’t resources for people in my situation. [Dead end}

SECTION 8 / SUBSIDIZED HOUSING – The HUD counselor did say one day she hopes the Section 8 will go toward mortgages. [Dead end]

And other than the over twelve month waiting list and no pets, it’s not much of an option. [Road closed]

DVR COUNSELOR – Years ago, when I asked her what other people do in my situation, she told me they lose everything. Ouch. [Dead end off a steep cliff!]

ROOMMATE? – This is a very common, understandable inquiry, not an option. [Dead end]

With limited gasoline in my brain tank, well, it’s easy to see traveling no where fast burns up fuel, stirs up a lot of dirt and dust but doesn’t take me to my desired destination, puts a lot of wear and tear on my car, and pollutes the environment!

I’ve learned a lot of other drivers have been on this same road too and the crash at the end is what I’m trying to avoid by defensive driving, careful handling, and strategic planning.

Beep beep!

Buckling up for safety and praying for traveling graces. Jesus, take the wheel!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

