Back to the Beginning: My Most Embarrassing Migraine Story Ever (posted June 9, 2009)


This will go down in history!

I woke up Thursday morning with what I thought was a sinus headache, I was congested, so used the nasal spray, fed the animals, saw how terrible I looked in the mirror, and went back to bed.

A little later, I got up to get some milk, the ice pack, and some OTC medicines to help calm my aching head. By this time, I didn’t want to eat at all, it took everything I had to get that down.

After lying down most of the morning, I rose to get ready for a counseling appointment in the early afternoon, still not feeling great, but hey, it’s just a sinus headache, I thought!

Driving I didn’t feel well, but headaches, migraines, whatever, some times I can push through them. If I could just get myself to a fast food restaurant, I was sure getting some caffeine and a bite to eat would help.

I was almost to the drive through when I started praying, “Oh Lord, please don’t let me throw up!” Too late! I quickly pulled into a parking spot and continued my not so fun projectile vomit adventure.

Not only did I not have the phone number to tell my counselor I couldn’t make it, I was also wearing white! The only day I’ve worn ALL white in years!

So, I drove to her office, doused myself with some water from my water bottle thinking that might help, then had to tell her in my stinky clothes I couldn’t stay, I had a migraine and explained the unfortunate series of events and I could not stop shaking. It was a HOT day, so the windows were down in my car, I think I made a joke about not having to worry about someone stealing it! LOL! She suggested I go to prompt care, I was reluctant due to finances, but her urging helped. She’s a smart cookie!

The folks there were very kind and compassionate, there was an older lady checking on the people in the waiting room, it was very comforting. I was sort of half lying down in a chair, trying to keep my stained clothing off of it, so had all my weight on my left hip. I must have looked absolutely hideous.

The older woman asked if she could get me a glass of water and I tried to whisper I’d just thrown up all over myself and am scared to drink anything. She understood, asked if she could get me a blanket or something, I said no thank you. I guess I whispered because I was hoping no one would figure it out! Not such a smart cookie! LOL!!!

It turned into a long afternoon. As if the above scenario wasn’t embarrassing enough, well, they gave me a shot in my tail feathers! Not only am I wearing white, vomit stained, smelly clothes, but now I have to moon the technician I just met seconds ago! Oy vey!

The shot helped to take the edge off the pain, they prescribed an anti-nausea medicine and something else for the migraine, but oh yes – it gets better! The doctor told me to fill the prescription as soon as possible.

They release me and now I have to go to Wal-Mart in my unflattering garb, drop off and wait for my prescription. (Calgon, take me away, please!) To become the Incredible Shrinking Woman or the Invisible Woman would have made me very happy. Oh the funny looks from those other Wal-Mart shoppers.

These are the moments that humble us most, they are really quite common with TBI, so I just went with the flow (oohh, terrible pun, not intended!)

This is real life, and I wouldn’t want it any other way!  🙂

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

