Back to the Beginning: Music As Medicine Article (posted June 1, 2009)


I’ve sure found my taste in music has changed post-injury, for those times I can listen to it, it’s not loud! It’s soothing, relaxing, peaceful music most often, and sometimes, when I can, I have a bunch of encouragement songs I listen to when in the rough spots of life.

This morning, King5 Morning News forwarded an MSNBC link on Twitter:

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/30990170/

I had to share it because when my Dad had open heart surgery last year, he still says to this day, he did not remember I was there, but he remembers the music.

The nurses allowed me to bring in a portable CD/radio player and I took a handful of CDs with me, they were all Fernando Ortega.

I believe strongly in the power to connect with the human spirit whether the person responds or not. I watched my Dad resting, not asleep, not aware I was there, but move his mouth, head, and arms like he was joyfully singing with Fernando’s music! Sacred moments.

I love what the article says about how we respond to certain types of soothing music, how it gets into the deeper parts of us needing healing. Awesome! (They even mention it helping Brain Injuries).

Like the Classical music station in Seattle says, “Because Mozart makes you smart.”

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

