Back to the Beginning: Lady Liberty, Santa Claus, and the Food Bank (posted Jan. 9, 2009)


I saw Lady Liberty and Santa Claus today, in my own hometown, I didn’t travel to the North Pole or New York!

A local tax preparation agency has a person dressed as the Statue of Liberty out along the main street, waving their company sign. I wondered about the irony and the plethora of jokes I couldn’t think of as she was smoking a cigarette!

I not so wholeheartedly went to the food bank today for the first time ever, it took me some time to work up the gumption to go and today was the day. Long story short, I am running out of food and the benefits of $14 a month, only go so far.

It was loud, children and us folks with differing disabilities. I had trouble hearing, and I asked at the counter what to do being new, he said nothing. So there I stood like a bump on a log!

A gal came in after me and took over my space, filled out the sign-in sheet he handed her and I quickly followed suit.

As I seated myself, no one made eye contact with me, I felt invisible. Like it or not, I have to do this, so I waited. I knew to bring ID and a utility bill.

I was called and the man at the counter acknowledged me, asked for my information and asked me questions I struggled to hear and comprehend. He asked if I had any kids, I said I have pets, he asked how many and then asked if they were naughty or nice.

Not understanding and bewildered, I said nice. He said to make sure to ask when I go back if they have any pet food. He said if they have some I can have some. I told him that was a huge blessing, I am relieved and thankful because I’ve been putting animal food on my credit card.

He then asked me something else I couldn’t understand about naughty and nice and heck, I chose nice! It was then he told me from Thanksgiving to Christmas he is not here in this office because his beard is usually longer…

I finally began to understand, this man is Santa Claus! As loud as it was I’m sure one could hear how loud my brain was clicking and whirring trying to figure out what he was saying, this new place and new system.

I was called back and a gal grabbed box, I remembered to ask about animal food and she showed me where it was, allowed me two lunch sacks of dog food and one of cat food and then we proceeded to the refrigerated section.

I’m glad someone goes through this with us because making decisions on a low brain budget is bound to take a long time! In fact the people who came in after us passed us because it took me so long to answer yes or no to her question of whether I wanted something or not.

I was hoping most for dairy, produce and eggs. Perhaps Friday is not the best day to go, something else to learn, when the best days are. No milk, eggs, a little bit of frozen turkey, and most of the other produce was moldy.

I did get rice and beans which make a perfect, or near perfect protein so I am very pleased to have that. I couldn’t have been more thankful for the blessed animal food. I was needing to get more dog food pretty soon, this will help stretch what I still have.

I’ll have to go visit the food bank’s website to try to figure out what Santa Claus was telling me this afternoon.

I am unbelievably exhausted, and will blog about my trip to inquire about heat assistance and doctor appointment next time.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

