Back to the Beginning: I Saw My Brain Today!! (posted Apr. 17, 2009)


Hey everyone,

I got to see my brain today! My chiropractor let me see my ‘inner self’. I’ve never seen an MRI of my brain and neck before, it was tremendously cool. I’ve seen an x-ray of my spine years ago, but nothing 3-D on the computer like this.

I appreciated the chiropractor saying, “this is your beautiful brain,” when I voiced awe.

I don’t tend to look at my brain that way, it was refreshing to recall the miracle of this gray matter!

I think if I can, I’d like to have a picture or two of my brain to remind me of all I’ve been through and ‘be kind to my mind!’ More of that work on self-compassion and acceptance. I think there’s a part of me that punishes myself for something I didn’t cause and have worked so hard to be completely healed from.

This was just what I needed after a morning of making the same mistake, a little work on the computer, went to take a nap only to return to find the space heater on AGAIN. Once is frightening, twice is insane. That’s not like me.

Harping on myself or letting fear grow over something I’m not aware of will not help. Were it anyone else, I’d offer them compassion and understanding and pray for their safety. Pretty simple. I’d also see if we could find workarounds.

Compassion, understanding, and unconditional friendliness toward myself will carry me through, the negative stuff doesn’t work. I don’t have heart to harp on a friend like I do myself!

I thought it was very nice the chiropractor asked if I wanted to see my MRI. I’ve had one before in 2005 when I had a weird dilated eye after a lot of stress, but never saw that one.

I do have three bulging discs in my neck, none intrude into the spinal cord.

For some reason, seeing the inner self helped me to feel more connected to, and compassionate toward, this brain I can’t control!

A day of discovery – and a lot of rest, and I’m off for more now! Fried brain…maybe that’s because it’s Fried-Day?! đŸ˜‰

The week is not over for me yet, got a call this afternoon from the office we have work.

Blessings everyone.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

