Back to the Beginning: How Strong Can I Be? (posted Apr. 19, 2009)


How strong can I be when others point out my faults, I say nothing of theirs…

How strong can I be when others struggle with losing keys, not feeling well, having a bad day, etc., temporarily, but this is where I live daily…

How strong can I be when I see glimpses of the life I love just beyond my blinders and my reach…

How strong can I be when my best often includes a myriad of mistakes…

How strong can I be when I am no longer who I was nor who I would like to be…

How strong can I be when really well-intentioned people offer help and/or advice, but in reality leave me worse off than I was before…

How strong can I be when those same people “try” to help me only to make themselves feel better about my painful journey…

How strong can I be when I’m seen as a project to be fixed, not a person to be loved…

How strong can I be when it’s really not about me, nor them, but simply human behavior…

How strong can I be when leaning on my own strength, understanding, abilities, intellect…

How strong can I be when I let go of all this humanness, limitations, things I cannot change…

How strong can I be when I let go of the struggle and cling to the spiritual…

Strong enough to stand again, dust off, take baby steps, live fully in the moment.

Strong enough to breathe in their pain, and mine, and exhale with thoughts and prayers we all be released from suffering and the root of suffering.

“…I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.” Philippians 4: 11b – 13.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

