Back to the Beginning: House Paperwork and Living with TBI (posted Aug. 1, 2009)


I sent off the mortgage paperwork yesterday to my lender, via Priority mail with Delivery Confirmation, just in case!

I thought the paperwork really wasn’t very bad and then I realized this morning that’s totally due to being jacked up (unknowingly!) on caffeine! Drats! In an effort to stay hydrated, I was adding this lovely drink mix to water and chugging about 32 ounces each day.

I’d wondered this morning why my skin was breaking out and checked the label to see if there is sugar in it, there’s not, but there are a lot of vitamins – and caffeine. It doesn’t say how much, obviously enough to keep me up all night last night.

As of today, I now have more funds for food, so bought some groceries this morning. I look forward to getting to make more fresh juice as well as afford some luxury items like meat! I do wish Costco would take EBT, that would be wonderful.

It’s kind of a challenge having food allergies and going to the food bank, I’m allergic to wheat, so try my best to keep it out of my daily diet. Wheat is kind of a filler in our American diet, not much nutrition and my body just doesn’t like it much. I will have pizza once in a while, my favorite food!

I didn’t get a chance to take my Barbies in to the eBay seller last week, I did not feel well and the appointment fell on the hottest day, where it got up to 103 in SeaTac. Maybe dehydrated from what I thought was a good drink mix to help hydration.

I also consolidated a lot of donations for St. Vinnie’s. I figure I’ll call them and have them pick these things up since I still don’t have my truck running (dead battery).

Some of the material stuff is quite difficult to let go, part with, it feels like just one more loss in a string of what feels like millions on this path. The funny thing with this whole Brain Injury thing is once it’s gone, I may not remember it at all.

When I’m up to making fun of my own life, I joke about that with the house and question how much I’ll remember of it anyway! Us TBIers transition from long-range planning and such to living in the moment quite abruptly.

I’m thinking about going to Salvation Army for church tomorrow. It’s been years since I’ve gone to a church, and wonder, can I handle it? New environment, music, etc., I had to stop going because of migraines and isolation.

I’m kind of on a strange, eclectic spiritual path now, trying to find enduring truths, not just the things that sell a lot of books and then nothing in our lives changes. (Ha – except the writers get rich!)

I’m curious about underlying truths that all faiths have in common. I think this is probably a good sign, because it means I want to grow. I may not have energy for this right now, but it’s nice to be open, curious, after all that’s happened.

Sometimes I feel more like an alien than a part of this world, post-injury. It really is a different world. But heck, just like getting the groceries this morning, everything I do in life is like a major covert military operation with all the planning and preparing I have to do! And even then, I forgot my coupons – LOL!

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

