Back to the Beginning: Hit and Run (posted Feb. 25, 2009)


A funny thing happened on the way home from Brain Injury support group tonight…

Driving home near our local college, I felt this strange big bump. I looked in the rear view mirror, there was no one directly behind me, then I looked front again and out of the corner of my left eye I saw this large pickup truck trying to be where my car already was! The turn right front signal on, he/she must not have seen me at all.

Stunned, I slowed and then tried to pull over into the bus depot to get out of traffic but they kept going! Oh my gosh! I rolled down my window to try to get to where I could yell at her to pull over but couldn’t get in that position.

I then scrambled what to do next? I tried to get a pen so I could at least write down the license plate, I knew I probably wouldn’t be able to remember the license number. I thought it bizarre he/she did not pull over and exchange information. I couldn’t find a pen in the dark, and thought I should call 911.

I stumbled with my phone, not remembering I had it on speaker phone earlier today. So had to turn it back to normal. I dialed 911, they answered on the first ring, I said I had just been hit, the person wasn’t stopping, and I was trying to relay the license plate as I got behind the truck and we were now at a stop light.

I didn’t know what else to do other than follow the truck! How could you hit someone and not know? Then I was concerned this person maybe driving under the influence.

It was hilarious me trying to give locations, drive, answer questions, multi-task! My hat’s off to anyone who can do all those things at once. I still had my window down for several miles! The dispatcher asked for make and color of the vehicle, my vehicle, my phone number, if I could see if the driver was alone or if there were others in the truck with him/her. It was dark out, I couldn’t see into the cab of the truck. I could tell the make and model, color, and license.

I told the dispatcher I couldn’t follow them far as I was nearly out of gasoline! The truck went onto the freeway and it was there officers caught up with us. The dispatcher told me to turn on my emergency lights, leave room between me and the truck and pull over behind the police car, and stay in my car.

In the matter of a few moments three police cars where there with flashing lights.

Shaking and now pulled over, I got my driver’s license, registration and insurance information for the officer. He didn’t have to ask me for it. Funny, I had just cleaned out and organized my wallet last night so it was all there, neatly organized for the first time in ages.

They asked me a lot of questions, like where the happened and all. I asked if the driver knew she hit me. The first officer didn’t know. He did say there was obvious damage to my car where she hit me. I jokingly said, “Gee, I’ve always heard it’s one lane per customer and I was already in my lane!”

They asked if I had tried to stop her and I said yes, geez, wouldn’t that be all I need, for this to somehow get twisted to not only am I the one to get hit but now I’m responsible for the other driver not knowing she hit me?! I did try to get her to pull over.

One officer was relaying information to another in the patrol car in front of me and they were laughing, I thought this would be one more funny story for them if they ever decided to write a book about the things they see.

I did ask another officer if driver knew they hit me – get this – she said she “thought” she had hit something but couldn’t stop because of the traffic. The officer asked me where this happened, I said right in front of the college and he laughed saying she drove 7 miles! This happened downtown and we’re now on the freeway. Hmm! He said she’ll be charged for hit and run.

I thanked the officer and told him I struggled to multi-task and he said they do it all the time. The officer who gave me a copy of the report said it’s clear she hit me, he said she did a good job tire swiping me like I was in the Indy 500. I laughed and said, “I don’t think so!”

Dang! Isn’t that something? I finally stopped shaking some time later, and realized how my entire body tensed up. Those are some familiar feelings I’ve long forgotten.

I stopped at the gas station before heading home and got a good look at where the tire streaked across my driver’s side door and a bit of the area behind. Wow. I shook my head while putting gas in the car. I haven’t been the cause of a single accident, but I’ll tell you, this makes me consider, if even only momentarily, giving up driving!

I can still feel the tension in my neck and back, wow, that old familiar pain, isn’t it interesting how a body remembers? Interesting that old familiar feeling I noticed while pumping gasoline, how I wanted to throw up.

Thinking about the simple decisions I made tonight, if I’d only stopped to grab something to eat, maybe this wouldn’t have happened, or whatever, but I just wanted to come home, feed my animals, and watch the Biggest Loser!

Looking at the report, the pickup driver was quite a way from home, she lives at least in the next county, not sure if it’s one or two counties away. Thinking back on it now, I’d imagine she wasn’t from around here or she would not have taken the long route heading south through town to go north on the freeway. Who knows, maybe she was talking on her cell.

I’ll take some pictures tomorrow in the daylight.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

