Back to the Beginning: Friday’s Dr. Appt. and Heat Assistance (posted Jan. 14, 2009)


I had a doctor’s appointment Friday to touch base, guess it’s been a while. She was concerned about prolonged use of sleep meds, naturally I can’t tell you how long (years). We’ll try something else, she wasn’t concerned after I said I only take half each night.

She said she had been concerned I was selling them! Oh my gosh, that caught me off guard and said no way, I need those! I also said I just don’t think that way! If I don’t take one, I will be up for more than 24 hours like happened recently when I tried to do without.

I mentioned applying for Disability, denied the first time, which I understand is common, I said the system is what the system is. She agreed and said with her working at this clinic (community health services with sliding fee scale) for four years, she KNOWS the system is broken!

She said she thought I would be a good candidate for Disability because it’s changed my life so much and I wasn’t at fault. I agreed. It was nice to hear that coming from a doctor, okay, she’s a Physician’s Assistant, but I consider her my doctor.

I took time out Friday to stop by to see if I could be seen for heat assistance as I had been told to do over the phone when I tried to reschedule. Fortunately I thought about what I would say before hand so when asked when my original appointment was I said I have a Head Injury, I was sorry, I just don’t know.

Instead of waiting to be seen they scheduled me for an appointment that I went to today. I do qualify for a little bit of help, but am grateful for that! I told her I’ve been trying to keep a credit on my utilities and she said that was impressive. I said it’s helpful in relieving stress. Nice to get a little validation.

I went to another food source today since when I signed up at the other place Friday they said there were a couple other places in the county I could go too. I’ll blog more another time, I am unbelievably tired, my brain needs rest.

Blessings everyone.

About Resilient Heart

TBI x3, that's me! If you had a Traumatic Brain Injury (or Injuries!) and knew you might not remember dates, events, people, etc., would you live each day differently? Would you give more, forgive more, heal more? I am. The statistics for me developing Dementia or Alzheimer's is a high possibility - one, because of the TBIs, and two - because I'm genetically predisposed. Come with me as this present moment is all we know we have... Wishing you all the best - today & always. Blessings, Love & Peace, RH
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

